We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing croissants reminiscent of Paris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pastries & Petals - CLOSED

Pastries & Petals
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing croissants reminiscent of Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was here on two consecutive mornings as they were a few blocks from where we were staying. They had beautiful looking pastries, a dog friendly patio and the most sumptuous, flaky perfect buttery textured croissants I've had since I returned from Paris 6 years ago. I had an almond one and a plain, both gave me flashbacks to a Parisian breakfast I enjoyed every day for 2 weeks while in France. The reception of the persons behind the counter seemed a bit strange, very cold but when the same person served our cappuccinos on the patio she seemed warm and friendly and loved our dogs. There must be something going on between the coworkers. In any case it certainly didn't dampen my enjoyment of these amazing croissants. They do serve more substantial food, such as quiche, after 9am but we were there too early both days to partake. Definitely worth a visit while in Carmel!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrueBlueGin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Egg sandwich was wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Both my companion and I had the egg sandwich which was wonderful! We also took some sweets to go - including a wonderful lemon bar and fantastic breakfast cookie. They have a dog friendly patio and even cooked our dog a scrambled egg. Very nice place, I recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank desertminky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Let because of unfriendly greeting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I think this would be a lovely place to eat but the greeting I got when they were shifting between breakfast and lunch made me feel unwelcomed. I would give them another chance in the future.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stopped for the best latte I have had in a very long while
And the cherry white chocolate bar is pretty awesome, although we could not eat it all, very sweet

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Oh so good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

After a nice early morning walk to the beach we asked a local to recommend a breakfast place. We enjoyed our selections so much we went back the next day. Lots of locals and tourists alike seemed to be enjoying their meals and beautiful desserts!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastries & Petals also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing