We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Exceptional Bakery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pastries & Petals - CLOSED

Pastries & Petals
Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93923
(831) 620-1400
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Pierson, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Exceptional Bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Everything we got here was great. We are still trying to copy the afternoon pull-aparts at home. The place is small (which perhaps makes them so good) don't let that stop you from getting something special.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Difficult to find.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a very cute little venue, and the pastries we enjoyed were very good, but I have to say that the outside sign although cute, is way too small to read from any distance. Would strongly suggest this is improved as they are just far enough away from the main street that people might turn around and give up, before finally reaching a spot that could become a favorite for a treat.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ptownbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was really excited to try this place after reading reviews but while the food here was good I was so disappointed by the service. We arrived for breakfast when there was only 2 other tables in the whole place and 2 waitresses working. Apparently they were too busy to be bothered with us while the chit chatted and took forever just to acknowledge us and never returned to ask if we'd like more coffee or water, etc...I'm sure the bakery counter is fine but as a place to sit and eat, no thanks.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tys_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Oh my God this is a find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Firstly, use your gps or ask your conciege. Stuck in a little office plaza with parking for 3 cars, so use the meter. Worth the trip. Indoor and Outdoor Breakfast/Lunch spot that is to die for. Dogs welcome on outside patio in a beautiful setting. Had the Gruyere Mac and Cheese-Exquisite. The Chicken Rice soup is the best I have ever tasted in my 39 year plus life! I have a feeling everything on the menu is prepared with a chef's eye in mind. The young lady that owns this place is delightful. I suggest packing to go 4 bakery items. I dont waste my waistline on any mediocre bakery so believe me when i say everything I ate was to tasty and left me with a feeling why didnt i buy more for the trip back. My favorite was the peanut butter layered bar, but i am not sure the exact name so buy whatever they have there with peanut butter and you should hit on it. Very Reasonable priced for Carmel and a must do when in this beautiful "Town".

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank edward b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

So cute, a perfect place to have a fantastic treat! I had the apple strudel. It was amazing. You could tast the fresh lemon zest!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoyIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastries & Petals also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing