We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to go, delicious food!”
Review of Flanagan's Pub

Flanagan's Pub
Ranked #61 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch
Description: Irish-American pub featuring great food that includes fish-n-chips, burgers, and wings. Flanagan's also has a dog friendly patio with a fire pit, darts, and a pool table.
Monterey, California
1 review
“Great place to go, delicious food!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We love to eat at Flanagans pub, fast, cheap and delicious ! We have a son and he keeps asking us to take him there!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrisaallex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    44
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, fish and chips were fantastic”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Sure there are better places to eat in Carmel, but this was just what we were looking for. We sat outside on the upstairs deck and enjoyed the sunshine and cool breeze. My wife and I shared a huge portion of fish and chips and she enjoyed a beer along with it. The fish (3 large pieces) was fresh, hot, light and crispy. The batter was not thick and greasy, it was very light like a tempura batter. The chips were obviously made from freshly cut potatoes and were also very hot and crispy. Food for two along with a beer and the tab was $20, like I said, just what we were looking for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dasdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not Impressed; Much better places in Carmel”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you want cheap drinks, come here. If you want a nice, pleasant family dinner - avoid. Flanagan's is located in the Barnyard, a big shopping and dining complex. We've been to other restaurants in the Barnyard and they were all very well kept, which is why were surprised to find that this place wasn't. The whole place is kind of run down, with old Christmas lights, cobwebs and cigarette butts. Upon walking in the door to talk to a hostess, we were immediately confronted by a drunk man who babbled incoherently, gave us high fives, poked us, and stumbled around. Most restaurants would have kicked this guy out, but the bartender continued to serve him more drinks. He would continue to be annoying the entire dinner. We sat outside since the drunk guy was inside, but found out that the heaters weren't working and had to move to the fire pit. Our waitress was actually very nice and talkative - she was the bright spot in our meal. It took a while for our food to reach us - about 30 minutes. The food itself was not bad, it was actually perfectly fine. It's just it was nothing special - I am pretty sure we could have prepared what we ate at home - The steak sandwich was literally a roll, steak, tomatoes and lettuce. It wasn't inspiring. It seemed like a sandwich one might make with leftovers. Overall, we were not incredibly impressed with Flanagan's - it is definitely not the worst place I've eaten, but you can just do so much better in a place like Carmel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zcggcz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing with several options”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent one night Carmel, and got into town late. Flanagan's was open and we were starving so we gave it a shot. The server was super friendly and helpful upon arrival. My husband sampled a few local beers, and our food came out quickly after ordering. The OMG Steak sandwich and Buffalo Chicken sandwich were both tasty, and we loved the fresh cut chips.
Along with the classic rock on the radio - we really enjoyed a relaxing evening here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LovingLifePhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and food”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We are currently doing a road trip and stayed in Carmel for 2 nights. Having had a long day whale watching we wanted somewhere to eat that would suffice our seafaring appetites. Flanagan's did just that. The service was fantastic and the bartender was extremely friendly and chatty. Our food was good, homemade and delivered quickly. What more do you need??? Worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flanagan's Pub also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Flanagan's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing