We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third and last time to eat at Le St Tropez”
Review of Le St Tropez - CLOSED

Le St Tropez
Price range: $16 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean & 7th Ave.
Description: Simple Escape...expressing the unique warmth that is the culture found along the French Riviera, enjoy the exquisite flavors of the region's bountiful cuisine from a menu that celebrates the seasons. Experience the charm of Southern France in the distinctly French Provençal dining room or al fresco nestled among the fountain, flowers and hummingbirds of a hidden garden, the "Jardin des Artistes." Enjoy convivial ambiance and gracious service by candlelight or by starlight...Sip cocktails fireside, indoors or out. *"Heated" garden dining + cozy blankets * Dog friendly + Doggy menu too! * Jardin des Artistes in an adult dining space - Families with children are welcome indoors. **Monday - Thursday entire evening, enjoy our Sip + Savor Prix Fixe menu plus one glass of complimentary house red or white wine $45. Prix Fixe menu is not available with other promotions and not available during Holidays.
Carmel, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Third and last time to eat at Le St Tropez”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

First time was pretty good. Second was very good. Third was poor.

After finding something foreign in my food and alerting the waiter, nothing was done. Though the food tasted very good, the lack of an appropriate response from the restaurant is inexcusable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 611rickz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    91
    36
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food & Cocktails”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Enjoyed a delicious dinner here on recent trip. The mussels, salmon pizza & duck are incredible. 5 star all the way. The prix fix dinner provides an affordable option in an area known for overpriced restaurants. There are also many gluten free options for those on special diets.
Great martinis and local wines are also featured.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Recessionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Quaint and delicious.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a very nice date night at Le Saint Tropez. Food was verygood, the service was quick and efficient and the restaurant was lively but not distracting. We will definitely go back. Thanks!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALOHA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Group Dinner”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Attended a large dinner gathering that reserved the entire restaurant. Menu was limited but food was excellent and the service fantastic. I enjoyed the filet of Sea Bass which was perfectly cooked. Considering that they were serving about 70 people all at once I was pleasantly surprised at the freshness and quality of the food. Everyone at our table was very pleased with their choices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smhw31@yahoo.com
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Recent visit to Carmel found a gem... Will return”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Le St Tropez is understated in appearance but the food is not. I started with mussels which were a highlight of the meal. Clean, refreshing and the saffron broth subtle yet satisfying. Finishing off with the swordfish (I know the mercury count but oh so worth it) I was pleased with the tender meatiness and the provencal seasoning. Honestly I inhaled the swordfish it was just that good. Carmel is a lovely town with many dining options, you will not be disappointed if you make Le St Tropez your next stop. Regarding the speed of service, I found it to be comparable to Europe/Paris I assumed that is what they were going for. They let you sit at leisure and you request the check once you are ready to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sw31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le St Tropez also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing