We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and delicious.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le St Tropez

Le St Tropez
Dolores Avenue, Between Ocean & Seventh, Carmel, CA 93923
18316248977
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le St Tropez is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean & 7th Ave.
Description: Simple Escape...expressing the unique warmth that is the culture found along the French Riviera, enjoy the exquisite flavors of the region's bountiful cuisine from a menu that celebrates the seasons. Experience the charm of Southern France in the distinctly French Provençal dining room or al fresco nestled among the fountain, flowers and hummingbirds of a hidden garden, the "Jardin des Artistes." Enjoy convivial ambiance and gracious service by candlelight or by starlight...Sip cocktails fireside, indoors or out. *"Heated" garden dining + cozy blankets * Dog friendly + Doggy menu too! * Jardin des Artistes in an adult dining space - Families with children are welcome indoors. **Monday - Thursday entire evening, enjoy our Sip + Savor Prix Fixe menu plus one glass of complimentary house red or white wine $45. Prix Fixe menu is not available with other promotions and not available during Holidays.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Quaint and delicious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a very nice date night at Le Saint Tropez. Food was verygood, the service was quick and efficient and the restaurant was lively but not distracting. We will definitely go back. Thanks!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Holman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
ALOHA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Group Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Attended a large dinner gathering that reserved the entire restaurant. Menu was limited but food was excellent and the service fantastic. I enjoyed the filet of Sea Bass which was perfectly cooked. Considering that they were serving about 70 people all at once I was pleasantly surprised at the freshness and quality of the food. Everyone at our table was very pleased with their choices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smhw31@yahoo.com
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Recent visit to Carmel found a gem... Will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Le St Tropez is understated in appearance but the food is not. I started with mussels which were a highlight of the meal. Clean, refreshing and the saffron broth subtle yet satisfying. Finishing off with the swordfish (I know the mercury count but oh so worth it) I was pleased with the tender meatiness and the provencal seasoning. Honestly I inhaled the swordfish it was just that good. Carmel is a lovely town with many dining options, you will not be disappointed if you make Le St Tropez your next stop. Regarding the speed of service, I found it to be comparable to Europe/Paris I assumed that is what they were going for. They let you sit at leisure and you request the check once you are ready to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sw31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Carmel dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Dinner was average. My wife's dinner of scallops was under cooked and was warm not hot. Must have been sitting
Waiting to be served. Cost was high food and service was average.
Will not return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gorgeous meal in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Having booked into the top rated Trip Advisor restaurant in Carmel on 8 October and then having seen how everyone was packed like sardines inside and more people waiting outside,we decided to give up or booking and went in search of an alternative. We came across Le St Tropez close by and were absolutely delighted by very good food, excellent wine recommendation and attentive service. The steak was absolutely fantastic. We were glad we had found this place and had one of the best meals of our US holiday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le St Tropez also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Le St Tropez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing