We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not french”
Review of Le St Tropez - CLOSED

Le St Tropez
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean & 7th Ave.
Description: Simple Escape...expressing the unique warmth that is the culture found along the French Riviera, enjoy the exquisite flavors of the region's bountiful cuisine from a menu that celebrates the seasons. Experience the charm of Southern France in the distinctly French Provençal dining room or al fresco nestled among the fountain, flowers and hummingbirds of a hidden garden, the "Jardin des Artistes." Enjoy convivial ambiance and gracious service by candlelight or by starlight...Sip cocktails fireside, indoors or out. *"Heated" garden dining + cozy blankets * Dog friendly + Doggy menu too! * Jardin des Artistes in an adult dining space - Families with children are welcome indoors. **Monday - Thursday entire evening, enjoy our Sip + Savor Prix Fixe menu plus one glass of complimentary house red or white wine $45. Prix Fixe menu is not available with other promotions and not available during Holidays.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not french”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice food kind service, not really french. We had a nice lunch time in an excellent atmosphere. The food was ok but not typically french

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    91
    36
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa
Level Contributor
308 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Enchanting French food in delightful Carmel setting”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a charming French restaurant with very good service and a wide range of menu offerings. We had a very nice dinner here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It is small and intimate, and I am sure it is just lovely in the winter. We would certainly eat here again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JeevesBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Must Visit”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was by far the best restaurant we ate at on our 14 day trip from SF to San Diego. Not the most expensive but for ambience welcome and food we would find it difficult to beat (even though Carmel seems to have many good looking restaurants). One of the reasons I think we liked the place was as we were driving Highway one its either fish, fish or fish with the usual steak. Anyway, the frogsl legs were very good, and ermm the steak my son has got high marks too. There is a decidedly French influence so Brits pining for a change stop here!

Phil Wright

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baggytrousers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were delighted we stumbled across Le St Tropez earlier in the day and decided to make a dinner reservation. What a great find this was!

Our waiter, Franc, was fantastic as were all the other staff, attentive but not intrusive. Franc made perfect recommendations - my husband had the specials of the day including duck confit which he never had before but he love it! I had the veal medallions and loved that as well and the roasted potatoes - YUM. We can't say enough about our experience here. All we can say is don't miss your chance for a wonderful meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 52sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
132 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were two hungry and tired couples when we came across Le St Tropez. The menu loked interesting and reasonably priced relative to others in Carmel, so we gave it a try. We all tried something different and were very pleased with the quality of the food and the service, amking for a most enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CRSJAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le St Tropez also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing