We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always quiet”

Carmel River State Beach
Ranked #10 of 110 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always quiet”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a beautiful little hidden gem of a beach. Oftentimes there are small weddings and many of the locals like this little beach because it is so much more quiet.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cmccotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    54
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“The Most Beautiful Place I Know”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

If you the river/lagoon is not flowing to the ocean, you can walk from Carmel to the southern end of this park.
The southern end connects with Monastery Beach, parking near the little red school house.
You can see dolphins, otters, an orca, falcons, turkey vultures, quail, bunnies, bobcats, lizards, pelicans, sea birds, and on and on. Not all on the same day, of course, so go as often as you can. More beautiful than Point Lobos, and free!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I recently visited this beach with my partner - picking it over the more crowded city beach. What an amazing find! The beach is absolutely stunning, perfectly clean with white sands and clear waters. We had been to Monterey earlier that day to go whale watching, but when we arrived at Carmel River State Beach we realised we hadn't needed to do that as you could see the humpback whales just swimming off the shore! We spent a perfect afternoon relaxing on the sands, watching the whales and enjoying the peace and quiet. Carmel itself is chocolate-box gorgeous so a must visit if you're on the West Coast.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaLaL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Just the most beautiful place ever, as good as it gets anywhere... A very clean beach with a great lagune, and the city of Carmel is just awesome!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davidoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“White sand”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A great place for bird watching and for artists to set up an easel to begin a painting. Very easy access, Bird and wildlife protected area so it is a nature preserve where one can be up close.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ishieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel River State Beach also viewed

 

Been to Carmel River State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing