We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best beaches” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel River State Beach

Carmel River State Beach
Ranked #9 of 107 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I recently visited this beach with my partner - picking it over the more crowded city beach. What an amazing find! The beach is absolutely stunning, perfectly clean with white sands and clear waters. We had been to Monterey earlier that day to go whale watching, but when we arrived at Carmel River State Beach we realised we hadn't needed to do that as you could see the humpback whales just swimming off the shore! We spent a perfect afternoon relaxing on the sands, watching the whales and enjoying the peace and quiet. Carmel itself is chocolate-box gorgeous so a must visit if you're on the West Coast.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaLaL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    53
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Just the most beautiful place ever, as good as it gets anywhere... A very clean beach with a great lagune, and the city of Carmel is just awesome!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davidoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“White sand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

A great place for bird watching and for artists to set up an easel to begin a painting. Very easy access, Bird and wildlife protected area so it is a nature preserve where one can be up close.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ishieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, ca
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice drive, nice uncrowded beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very nice drive through very expensive houses to get to this nice beach. Parking lot is small but people seem to always be leaving you will get a spot eventually. Very nice sand beach, People even jump into fresh water water near by which is warmer than ocean. Love this nice spot will for sure come back year after year if possible.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mattjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Beautiful hikes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very accessible and easy hiking. I don't walk so well and this seemed very easy. Beautiful and varied fauna and flora. Great bird-watching!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel River State Beach also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Carmel River State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing