We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White sand”

Carmel River State Beach
Ranked #9 of 110 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“White sand”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A great place for bird watching and for artists to set up an easel to begin a painting. Very easy access, Bird and wildlife protected area so it is a nature preserve where one can be up close.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ishieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    55
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, ca
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice drive, nice uncrowded beach”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very nice drive through very expensive houses to get to this nice beach. Parking lot is small but people seem to always be leaving you will get a spot eventually. Very nice sand beach, People even jump into fresh water water near by which is warmer than ocean. Love this nice spot will for sure come back year after year if possible.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mattjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Beautiful hikes!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very accessible and easy hiking. I don't walk so well and this seemed very easy. Beautiful and varied fauna and flora. Great bird-watching!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, CA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This beach is less frequented than the city beach - we feel like it's our "private secret." Beautiful clean sand, rocks, tide pools and water fowl.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ceip312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family Day in the Sun!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I live here and it is always a treat for my husband and I to take the kids here! We bring a picnic lunch, our kites and the sunscreen. There is no shade so you may want an umbrella or tent if you need it. There are bathrooms by the parking lot that are large for changing, etc. There is a little lagoon area for the little ones to splash in and many enjoy kayaking in this area, too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank iluvaboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel River State Beach also viewed

 

Been to Carmel River State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing