We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful hikes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel River State Beach

Carmel River State Beach
Ranked #9 of 104 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Monterey, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Beautiful hikes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very accessible and easy hiking. I don't walk so well and this seemed very easy. Beautiful and varied fauna and flora. Great bird-watching!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    49
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This beach is less frequented than the city beach - we feel like it's our "private secret." Beautiful clean sand, rocks, tide pools and water fowl.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cmelsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family Day in the Sun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I live here and it is always a treat for my husband and I to take the kids here! We bring a picnic lunch, our kites and the sunscreen. There is no shade so you may want an umbrella or tent if you need it. There are bathrooms by the parking lot that are large for changing, etc. There is a little lagoon area for the little ones to splash in and many enjoy kayaking in this area, too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank iluvaboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Get up early!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great place to enjoy your morning walk or just sit and drink a cup of coffee as you watch! Beautiful locale. Easy walk from main shopping area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the view of the Carmel River is picture perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

great place to paint plein air love the vistas! Great view of the Carmel river reaching the sea. You can enjoy the pristine beach in the fresh water or hit the beach side of Carmel. Lots of space, some paring in a lot at Stewart's cove.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WillaminaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel River State Beach also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Carmel River State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing