We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in downtown Carmel”
Review of Basil

Basil
Reserve with OpenTable
Basil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ocean & 7th
Carmel, California
2 reviews
“Good choice in downtown Carmel”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is an excellent choice for lunch in Carmel when you don't want to break the credit card limit. We had crab cakes and a "Autumn Gnocchi", which turned out to be a lighter than expected pumpkin gnocchi with vegetables. Both were nicely presented, and excellently prepared. We don't know what people were talking about concerning overly heavy suaces. Our dishes were not. The decor is just a bit dated, but we went for the food and service, which were perfect.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marlene t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    131
    52
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hidden gem”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We found this place on another review site because we had a craving for Italian. Did not disappoint. Super wine list too, including a great organic wine (Heller). Black parpadelle was my daughters favorite. Extensive app choices if you don't want to spend much and just as delicious.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank afgorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every manner”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Having lived in Italia for four years, I've had my share of mind-blowing Italian food. Basil was simply stunning in its delivery of super fresh and delicious Italian fare. The ravioli with pumpkin was divine and the burrata was perfect.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank funmakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Rather average food, presentation and service”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Love the organic, farm to table dining experience and this restaurant was recommended to us by someone with a similar beliefs. It was a late Sunday lunch so we were immediately seated inside. After two fantastic dinners over our weekend stay, it was unlikely that on a comparative basis, any lunch could fully satisfy our positive dining experiences. This proved true and then some.

Our waitress was an overly friendly, somewhat "over the top" person that you either really like or just tolerate. It was the unfortunately the latter for us. There was one incident with her at another table that even she recognized as being rather embarrassing but lent credence to our belief of her cluelessness for anything but working in a downscale environment and not a quality restaurant.

Wife had the Autumn gnocchi while I had the Country pate open-faced sandwich. Both dishes were pretty uninspiring. My dish was supposed to be wrapped in pancetta which would have rounded-off the menu item. Sadly, no pancetta was present. I normally would have noted this to our waitress but given her personality it simply wasn't worth the effort.

This restaurant may have some potential based on the positive reviews but we clearly hit it on a bad day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“On the edge”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This restaurant has some nice features but just misses in some key ways. The service was too assertive for my taste. The food while decent simply was not top flight. Perhaps if organic is high priority, this is your place. If that is not your priority look elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing