We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Basil WAY overrated” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basil

Basil
Reserve with OpenTable
Basil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ocean & 7th
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basil WAY overrated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Originally wanted to go to Demtra's cafe, but there was no space available, so we chose Basil which was the 3rd highest rated restaurant in Carmel. The experience was terrible and I wouldn't recommend this restaurant at all. The key issues for me were:

1. Very wobbly table, no effort to fix
2. Vegetable soup ordered off menu, but they brought out asparagus soup. When questioned, the server said the vegetable soup was not available anymore, though it was just the start of the dinner service.
3. Waited for nearly 1 hour for the main course
4. Server never came to table after order, and no one ever asked how the food was

The food was actually pretty good, but for such a small restaurant, I'm appalled at the quality of the dining room and service, and the time it took to get our entrees out. I will not be going to Bail again, and would recommend that other readers consider alternate restaurants, which will provide an experience commensurate with the pricing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank srikant05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    125
    49
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“BEWARE - they took an unauthorised tip from our creditcard”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Absolutely terrible service. We left no tip and put ZERO on the creditcard slip with the net total above and below it. When we got our statement we discovered they had added a $10 tip to our creditcard charge!! We have been emailing Denis the owner for over a month now and although he keeps promising to refund us he has not refunded the $10. Do not visit this restaurant!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport coast , ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We were 2 couples dining at Basil. On the positive side. Our waitress was a joy. She was fun, knowledgeable, and attentive. The food on the other hand was average and the menu somewhat limited. I had a burratta and tomato salad that was marginal. I had short ribs for my main course that was good. The other couple had ravioli that he said was just ok and his wife had 2 appetizers. Because of the average food and limited menu, we won't return to Basil, especially with all of the restaurants in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bennybootles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not going back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We went there for an anniversary lunch and left very dissatisfied. The weather was gorgeous so we sat outside, waited patiently for 10 minutes to be first greeted by the server, another 10 minutes for her to come back, add another 10 for bread ( we had to ask for it). The red sauce was bitter, the salad rather limp and the lamb kabob/burger left much to the imagination.

Maybe they had an off day, but we are not going back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvertiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent, fresh, local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Have eaten here twice on vacations to California. Creative menu with delicious food, excellent service and location. Outside seating available. If you are in Carmel, Basil is a sure bet!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahMcK2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing