We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not going back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Basil

Basil
Reserve with OpenTable
Basil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ocean & 7th
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not going back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We went there for an anniversary lunch and left very dissatisfied. The weather was gorgeous so we sat outside, waited patiently for 10 minutes to be first greeted by the server, another 10 minutes for her to come back, add another 10 for bread ( we had to ask for it). The red sauce was bitter, the salad rather limp and the lamb kabob/burger left much to the imagination.

Maybe they had an off day, but we are not going back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvertiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    116
    47
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent, fresh, local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Have eaten here twice on vacations to California. Creative menu with delicious food, excellent service and location. Outside seating available. If you are in Carmel, Basil is a sure bet!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahMcK2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent service and interesting menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Six of us went for a Friday night dinner and had a great time. Food was very good - the morel mushrooms were a delicious treat. We also shared the meatballs for an appetizer which were excellent. The ahi was perfect. Presentation was very appealing. The service was excellent. The restaurant is very small, but cozy. Looking forward to going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Basil in Carmel CA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at Basil for lunch once we got into town for our two night stay. We sat outside, the inside was a bit cramped. Our table was wobbly on the outdoor patio. We were given menus and were ready to order our drinks but the server walked away. Once we did get out me drinks we were told the specials for the day. One of them was corn chowder. I asked if it was vegetarian and after a slight hesitation, the server said yes it is. The soup came out after a bit and I began eating it. It was full of chicken. When I pointed this out to the server, he said "no, it is vegetarian, I asked the cook!" I showed him the chicken and he came back a few minutes later and apologized, saying that he specifically asked the chef if it was veggie and was told yes. He offered to bring me another appetizer.
Once I got the bill I thought for sure he would have removed the corn soup and not charged me for the new appetizer but this did not happen.
When he greeted the table next to us I heard him describe the soup of the day as "chicken corn chowder". Being a vegetarian for more than 15 years I always ask specific questions and this is the first time this has happened to me. Servers need to know exactly what they are offering and what they are serving.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraMarieCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food is OK, but poor service and seating”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The food is tasty - as others have said - but not amazing by any stretch. We were recommended this place on our last night here, but so disappointing - and we are really not the types to grumble like this. Chef was really nice, we saw him because he had to come out and help the overworked waitresses! But it's simply not OK to wait an hour for expensive food served in small portions. And the seating arrangement is terrible - if you are a couple, you may be just inches from the next table; this will probably not be intimate dining. After eating here, we had to find somewhere else to eat dessert... So many better places in Carmel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sthelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing