We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy Calamari”
Review of Basil

Basil
Reserve with OpenTable
Basil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ocean & 7th
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“yummy Calamari”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stopped in for a late afternoon cocktail and ordered the calamari.
It was so good. Just perfect for a bit of nosh.
We went back for dinner a couple of days later and had the short ribs. Great sauce.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiesebastian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    132
    52
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cozy spot”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across this little gem on oir first night in Carmel. Very small place with some outdoor seating. Everything we ate was incredibly fresh and tasty. Prices were very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Favorite place in Carmel!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised with this great find in Carmel! Very good food and great service. Definitely a must visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rnewton24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sit outside if you can”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a great meal at Basil and were happy to sit outside under the heat lamps on a brisk day. We ordered the lamb meatballs, my boyfriend had the short ribs (highly recommend) for his main and I had the Boar Sausages. Service was friendly and on top of things, the only negative is that some of the tables outside are a little too close to each other. Luckly we had friendly neighbors but literally we could have all been sitting at the same table.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank w0lverinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't meet our expectation.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We were referred to this restaurant from the staff at the Carmel Country Inn. Upon arriving we were set at a table that seemed to be an afterthought, it was placed outside of the patio perimeters. Our waitress was good when she came to our table, but her visits were too infrequent. We arrived at 7:00pm and left at 9:30. Food was only so so. Would not recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing