We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Basil

Basil
Reserve with OpenTable
Basil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ocean & 7th
Hayward, California, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was a great place! The food is all local and I thought reasonably priced. It's a higher end restaurant, but the dress is casual. I had the squid linguine, a friend had the boar sausage, and everyone else had the short ribs. The ribs didn't need a knife, they were so good. My linguine was awesome. We always had our water filled, but we had to request ice. That was the only odd thing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    131
    52
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice but unremarkable”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a nice little restaurant with good, if not unremarkable food. What was notable was - the really pleasant helpful server, a very happy and vibrant lady. It was a lovely place to eat and relax after a long drive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ebwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fresh, Organic, Local Food”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you are looking for the epitome of locovore, this is the place. They pride themselves with good reason on their fresh, healthy, organic food and superb preparation. We only had lunch there, but were delighted with our asparagus soup (like a puree almost) and fish. Friendly service, reasonable prices, a great place to dine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Every aspect was top notch”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food, staff, location, setting and convenient location made for a perfect stop. My waife was equally impressed and loved the menu selections. Our stay was short but would of liked to come back again if time permitted.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris48302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cozy spot for dinner”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We found Basil at the last minute and were able to get a table. Staff was attentive and welcoming. We sat inside, but there's a great little outdoor area as well. Food was delicious and well presented. It happened to be our last dinner this vacation trip, and it was a great choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing