We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb chef and delightful staff”
Review of Basil

Basil
Reserve with OpenTable
Basil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ocean & 7th
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Superb chef and delightful staff”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Each plate that comes out from this kitchen is obviously crafted with the highest level of care and love. Each time we have eaten here, we have been delighted. The squid ink pasta and the tortellini have been delicious and we would order again as well as both the salmon terrine and lamb meatball starters.
For dinner, choose the main dining area for an intimate experience and then choose to eat outside for a wonderful courtyard lunch date. This is a small restaurant with quite a following so be sure to book in advance. Do not skip dessert as the cobblers that come out of this kitchen are to die for.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HongKongTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    129
    51
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lunching experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped over for lunch and randomly picked this place after a quick look at the menu. The warm bread and slightly different style pesto was lovely. For mains I had the beet root and goats cheese salad - which tasted divine with the walnuts covering the balls of goats cheese and slices of peeled orange to give it a slight tang - refreshing! My husband very much enjoyed his cheese burger and his basil ice tea...and to top it off the waiter service was great - very cheerful and happy man which made the whole experience even more pleasant. Definitely recommend!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalpa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a restaurant nearby my hotel. hadn't read any of the comments, but it was excellent! Fresh, healthy delicious food, cozy, friendly staff, nice place!!! I really enjoyed it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imke1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An incredible little place in a lovely city like Carmel by the Sea.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We spent the afternoon coming from Monterey thru the 17mile drive (completely worth it btw) and had a late lunch in Basil. The hostess was just superb and the food also.

We had the carpaccio and the bbq ribs. The carpaccio is a small portion, but the ribs do fill the need. Dessert was one of the best cobblers I've ever had: olieberries.

If we ever come back to Carmel, we will come back ro Basil.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuanpaMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Chicken worth the wait!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I really enjoyed my dinner here. The owner is working on making this the first green restaurant in Carmel. Don't let this scare you, it just means high quality foods. Two of the three of us ordered the chicken. The menu says it will take 30 minutes, but it took closer to an hour. It was worth the wait. It was delicious! If you know you are going to order this, you might want to call ahead.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hobbstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing