We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basil

Basil
Reserve with OpenTable
Basil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 155 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ocean & 7th
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Excellent food with sensitivity to healthier diets. Lovely setting and attentive service.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vivian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    128
    51
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Delicious food at very reasonable prices and very popular with the locals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We found this intimate restaurant on Trip Advisor and the reviews were very accurate. The menu isn't large but is creative and everything was very tasty, served at the right temperature and visually appealing. Would definitely eat there the next time we visit Carmel.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Retatty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding preparation, consistently fresh with thoughtful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

With an ever-changing dinner menu (they're committed to fresh ingredients), you'll never be bored with the offerings at Basil. The lunch menu is more consistent, with fantastic fresh soups and salads, and gorgeous sandwich offerings. The blackened steak salad is hard to beat for both price and taste. Sit outside if the weather permits; the inside acoustics aren't the most friendly. Besides, when you're out, you get to people watch much more easily! This is hands-down one of my favorite Carmel restaurants!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Staci G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very special little restaurant with amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We loved our dinner here. Unique and imaginative local food and a fun atmosphere. Very glad we found this place!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sal_Minella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not very friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We went there on a rainy day for lunch. The cafe is tiny! We got in the door and the guy who suppose to take you to your seat was just standing there and talking to 2 women he obviously knew. Laughing and talking for long -long minutes, and we were just standing there, no-one said anything, even though they had available tables. Very rude.... Also, the food. It was good enough, but small portions. The waiter was ok. Not much to recommend, especially that Carmel is full of coint restaurants/cafes...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank EBSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing