We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely French Bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andre's Bouchee

Andre's Bouchee
Reserve with OpenTable
Andre's Bouchee is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean Ave. and 7th
Description: Proprietor Elizabeth Ketler want to share a Carmel favorite that lures locals and visitors with its chic style and neighborhood charm. Chef Benoit Petel prepares Modern French Bistro Cuisine.The wine bar opens at 5:30 pm daily. Dinner will be served from 5:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. nightly. Reservations are recommended at the restaurant. We are open for lunch from 12:00 until 2:30 Friday - Sunday
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
220 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely French Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

If you like French food, this is your place. The food was great-- very French and very rich. The service was a little off but I confess that I was with a large group of 18 people which was a challenge. My biggest complaint is that the waiter couldn't keep our wine glasses full-- very strange. Overall, however, it was a cute and charming place with great food and a nice chef who came over and said hello. Will definitely go back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    86
    28
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had dinner at Andre Bouche for the second time in December, and the unprofessional maitre d'hote was just appalling both times.

We had a reservation for 8:30PM, and I called to make sure they were honoring the times, as the previous visit we had had to wait for so long. They told me they were running 10-15 minutes late, so I waited to arrive at 8:45PM. When we arrived there were empty but not cleaned tables, and the maitre d was chit chatting with a guest - which lasted for 10 minutes. When we inquired of a waiter as to whether we could be seated, he indicated the maitre d was the only person who could do that. She was just so unprofessional and clearly not service oriented that all the guests waiting (2 other couples) were also amazed and put off.

The service by the wait staff was good. We had the pear salad (B), the muscles (A), and the steak (B). They are getting by because the food is good quality.

But we were so put off by the terrible experience and the waits of 30 minutes both times, that we had determined never to return!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravLove8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
127 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Never a Disappointment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We started with the trio of house made country pate, rabbit terrine and duck rillettes. Some of the very best we've ever had! (I am salivating as I write this!) The seafood risotto was excellent (with the exception of the taste of the three mussels) and perfectly prepared. The sea scallops over a vegetable puree were also very good. The apple tart finished a very satisfying meal. The extensive wine list does include a few good affordable options for those of us with less deep pockets. The wait staff is pleasant and accommodating. Can be noisy and somewhat chaotic depending on where one is seated in the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MCBW5875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best French bistro in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

From the lengthy but amazing wine list, to the spectacular French fare, to the phenomenal individual service provided by the wonderful staff, this place a was gem. Beef carpaccio, duck, creme brûlée & escargots were all top notch. However, the mussels!!! Wow! Best I've ever had!
I would highly recommend it to anyone seeking great French food at a very reasonable price. Excellent dining experience!

Helpful?
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I had a great experience here. After looking over several menus from nearby restaurants, we chose Andre's. We sat at the bar thinking we were just going to have a few appetizers but after looking over the menu and listening to the waiter explain the specials, I opted to order off the menu.
My wife had the escargots. We both have had them and prepared many ways but this was truely a unique experience. They were done in a demi glaze with hazel nuts. Highly recommend them along with the french onion soup and the salmon tartare/smoked salmon.
I had the sea scallops on top of the veal medallions. Sounds like a bit of an odd combination but the mild sweet scallops accompanied the tender veal just fine. It was all brought together with an intoxicating beurre blanc (butter) sauce.
My wife and I spent the week in the Carmel area and had the chance to sample many of the restaurants. I can say we really did not have a bad meal anywhere but Andre's stands out as one of the most memorable.
Great food and large wine list is a winning combination

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andre's Bouchee also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Andre's Bouchee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing