We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went for the corkage and that was a mistake”
Review of Andre's Bouchee

Andre's Bouchee
Reserve with OpenTable
Andre's Bouchee is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 158 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean Ave. and 7th
Description: Proprietor Elizabeth Ketler want to share a Carmel favorite that lures locals and visitors with its chic style and neighborhood charm. Chef Benoit Petel prepares Modern French Bistro Cuisine.The wine bar opens at 5:30 pm daily. Dinner will be served from 5:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. nightly. Reservations are recommended at the restaurant. We are open for lunch from 12:00 until 2:00 Friday - Sunday
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We went for the corkage and that was a mistake”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We brought our own wine! What a mistake! The wine list is superb, and we don't think that this restaurant really wants its clientele bringing wines to the table. The duck was a bit too sweet (pear sauce) and the salad overdressed, but the risotto was some of the best in Carmel!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank coralreefdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    95
    30
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I went there for dinner and we are very glad we chose this place.
The meal was remarkable in all aspects.
The service was very gentle and prestative. The russian sommelier really knew how to express himself and recommend a bottle. The entreés were delicious and so were the main courses. We both ordered the same dish, a beef with some sort of red wine reduction.
We really liked this place.
In our 2 weeks trip throughout California this meal was truly the best!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TCRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great food, great service, excellent wine selection, nice cozy atmosphere. Good place for romantic dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Igor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed in Carmel for two days and was adviced to make a reservation at Andre´s. As a lone traveller I ended up at the bar, the room was crowded. And being a rather reserved North European I do get a bit stressed when I have total strangers at my elbows, but the excellent food, wine and service soon made me loosen up. I don´t know if I´ll ever be back, but I´ll recommend Andre´s to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OsloMusikant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Creative and high quality food”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had dinner at Andre's on Thanksgiving day. Andre's as all restaurants on this "American holiday" paid homage to the turkey. On this special day, Andre's had a prix fixe menu with 3 choices for the first course, 3 for the second and 2 for dessert. My husband had the stuffed mussels, the turkey with chestnut dressing and a cheese plate for dessert. I had the green salad with sweet potatoes and candied pecans , the sea bass in a beurre blanc sauce and profiteroles for dessert. Everything was delicious and my fish was outstanding. The wine list is exceptional and well priced. They offer wine by the glass and many wines by the half bottle and, of course, the full bottle. I plan to visit on a non holiday day so I can order from the regular menu which has more choices. Although I did notice that some people ordered a not on the menu appetizer and, my husband ordered the cheese plate which was also not on menu. Lovely when a restaurant has some flexibility.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFGAL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andre's Bouchee also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Andre's Bouchee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing