We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Andre's Bouchee

Andre's Bouchee
Reserve with OpenTable
Andre's Bouchee is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean Ave. and 7th
Description: Proprietor Elizabeth Ketler want to share a Carmel favorite that lures locals and visitors with its chic style and neighborhood charm. Chef Benoit Petel prepares Modern French Bistro Cuisine.The wine bar opens at 5:30 pm daily. Dinner will be served from 5:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. nightly. Reservations are recommended at the restaurant. We are open for lunch from 12:00 until 2:00 Friday - Sunday
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The food is good but not great. I have been going to this restaurant for a while and it used to be excellent, but it seems it has gone downhill over the past year. Recently I went there for dinner and it wasn't busy, yet I ordered a bottle of wine and before the wine came, the appetizers were delivered to our table. We finished our apps before the wine came. Everything regarding dinner seemed rushed, even though the restaurant was not even half full. The quality of the food was good, but I could make it myself at home and do a better job. Just saying. This restaurant was a special place that my husband and I went to regularly and loved. Not so much anymore.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lois l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    94
    29
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Food and Service in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a party of 9 for our Grand Slam Dinner including a line up of wines to Die for Screaming Eagle, Schrader, Dalle Valle Harlan Bond... The staff was excellent, preparation exquisite, and food superb. Can't say enough about the top restaurants in Carmel;

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helicopterbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

It was a close walk to our hotel and everything was wonderful! The food was great, the service was great, and the atmosphere was great! Then there was desert.....Awesome! The wine list was significant! The servers were friendly and they enjoyed what they were doing. We will definitely go there again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Even Better This Year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We ate at the restaurant last November, and had great food, but a so-so wine recommendation. Our meal was still memorable, and we returned for another dinner last night. The food was, as before, excellent, and the wine recommendation this time was stunningly good. I started with one of my "always order anywhere" favorites: French Onion soup, and it was among the best I've had. It was $9. I also had the scallops (@$28) which were excellent--three plump and perfectly cooked items in a delicious sauce. My wife had a mushroom starter dish that she loved, and then the Dover Sole (@$42) which was deboned tableside. She loved it! The wine was a Du Mol Chardonnay; not cheap but truly wonderful. You can't go wrong with this place. We'll be back on our next visit to Carmel.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
123 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“fresh seafood well prepared.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very nice ambience for a quiet night out, slightly spoiled by a very loud woman at the next table who had had a wine or two too many!
We had the Halibut with basil & the Pacific sea bass with lime & thyme served on tagliatelli accompanied by baby veg: carrots, courgettes, fennel.
The entrees were excellent, the sauces flavoursome, but in no way overpowering the fish.
The salads were interesting & fresh.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andre's Bouchee also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Andre's Bouchee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing