We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mundaka

Mundaka
Ranked #54 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Ocean Ave & 7th Ave
Transit: Monterey Peninsula Transit Bus Stop is located right out front on the sidewalk.
Description: Mundaka is a Spanish style tapas restaurant in downtown Carmel, CA. It is the result of great friendships, a love of food and wine and music, and a long term romance with Spain and its culture. Open in March 2009, Mundaka continues to evolve daily with the creations of our chef Brandon Miller, and the musical musings of all our talented contributors. Mundaka aspires to be the hub for all that is tasty, fun, artistic, creative, and cultural in Carmel-by-the-sea. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We read the menu beside the and decided to give it a try.

Outstanding cocktails and a very fresh tasting sangria were enjoyed on this rare warm Carmel evening.

We shared 7 plates among the 3 of us, our 10 year old daughter loved everything, if your kids are willing to experiment from normal kids fare this restaurant is perfect for families. The white anchovies are wonderful along with the fried garbonzos.

I am mystified by comments that the food is expensive because that is untrue. 2 adults and a 10 yr old ate for under $60 (not including booze) no where else can you enjoy fresh usual ingredients for that price.

My only complaint.....the music was more like new age night club music. Throw that CD in the garbage....please.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Parbuster1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    70
    29
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superior”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just went in with four for a late lunch. Only about ten tapas on the menu but the eight or so we tried were all excellent, served with panache by the friendly cook, and at one huge table in a adjacent section from the night location. So you could schmooze with your neighbors, which was fun. The pricing came out to about $15 each, which wasn't bad for Carmel. You will need to take cash, as they weren't doing credit cards, at least for lunch. This was an interesting set of dishes, not your usual fare, so go in and take a chance on something different. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lucy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable casual dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This was a very enjoyable dinner, I would definitely go back. The almonds and garbanzos were delicious, the duck comfit outstanding, and the clams extremely tasty (be sure to drink the sauce). A tad on the pricey side but it IS Carmel, and to people who complain about serving size, it IS tapas. Good wine list and the movie was a nice highlight, especially when dining solo. Thanks for a great meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I'm not sure what all the hype is. The reviews are great but food simply isn't. I found the meals pretty average in general. One thing to note is don't order the cheese plate, it's $20 for a few shavings, no bread.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blamelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Foodies...go here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Awesome small plates with phenomenal quality and flavor. Order two at at time so you can taste your way along and gradually determine when you get full.

2 must haves are the Gazpacho which was even better than my wife's and I never thought that would be possible. Lamb sliders were amazing (order two because you won't want to share them with each other).

Definatley go for the house wine at $5 per glass. Don't be fooled by the cheap price. We spent a month in tuscany last year and compared to all the delicious house wines we drank along the way.

(Don't bother with the smoked salmon as they are more like deep fried cheese sticks however.

Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aquayreous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mundaka also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Mundaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing