We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite Carmel spot”
Review of Mundaka - CLOSED

Mundaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Ocean Ave & 7th Ave
Transit: Monterey Peninsula Transit Bus Stop is located right out front on the sidewalk.
Description: Mundaka is a Spanish style tapas restaurant in downtown Carmel, CA. It is the result of great friendships, a love of food and wine and music, and a long term romance with Spain and its culture. Open in March 2009, Mundaka continues to evolve daily with the creations of our chef Brandon Miller, and the musical musings of all our talented contributors. Mundaka aspires to be the hub for all that is tasty, fun, artistic, creative, and cultural in Carmel-by-the-sea. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Carmel
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our favorite Carmel spot”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Fabulous small plates, wonderful cocktails, excellent paella and entertainment to boot. This is hidden away in a courtyard near the iconic Nielsen's market on San Carlos. Don't miss. Owners also support local non-profits--a huge plus in our book. Enjoy!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarmelCoasttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    71
    30
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
“Awful noise level”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The food was incredibly tasty - so well done. Loved our wait staff. But we left with headaches from the noise level of the music. They had talented belly dancers who were wonderful to watch, but the music was so loud, we absolutely couldn't hear each other and had to shout and even then still couldn't be heard. The music could have been at a normal level and it would have made the evening a home run hit. Unfortunately, the noise ruined what otherwise would have been a great meal...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“favorite!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is my current favorite Carmel restaurant. Fun and lively. Great food. Not overpriced. Great house wine and excellent creative cocktails. I've been there several times and never been disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank soupcasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An absolute delight”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were staying at Pebble Beach and decided to head out to Carmel for something different. I am sooooo glad we did. We were finding it hard to locate the restaurant as it was quite dark -so we phoned Mundaka, the waitress came out and waved so we could see where it was. Now that is what I call good service! Once inside, we had a cosy table - the atmosphere was great and by the time we left the place was hopping. Out waiter whose name I can't sadly remember was brilliant - knowledgeable, attentive and witty!

Great selection of Tapas - and a great wine list. All in all a pretty lovely evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nozza68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun and tasty hidden spot”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

A lively spot not to be missed. So many good things on the menu to try! Don't miss the paella!really cool lighting. A little hard to find as it is tucked back in a courtyard. Well worth the hunt! Great waiters will steer you to the best items if you need help.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rustydog0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mundaka also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing