We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Gotta give these folks 5 stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brophy's Tavern

Brophy's Tavern
Ranked #43 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Gotta give these folks 5 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Ate here our first night in Carmel and could not have had a better time. Don't let the "tavern" part fool you. They serve some amazing food here. Pasta and prawns was absolutely perfect. Apps were good and the great selection of beer was nice and cold. We watched the Monday Night Football game and had a great time. Our very attractive server was really outstanding too. Pleasant, attentive and helpful. We would LOVE to have a place like this in our neighborhood. Thanks Brophy's!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElvisinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    55
    8
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BOSSIER, LA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

It was evening time & we were looking for a place to eat that wouldn't cost a fortune in Carmel. At one of the downtown restaurants a worker told us of Brophy's, a place where the locals go to eat. It is on the edge of downtown & is like a pub, I believe. It is not very large & we had to wait awhile before getting any service but after the lady took our order, it wasn't long before we got the food. The food was very good & in big portions. Also, it was very reasonably priced. We are not tavern people, but all in all it was a good experience. We would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BossierCityTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Appetizers and a chat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Brophy's is a wonderful pub to meet-up with friends (or make new ones) before or after dinner for a light snack. Great service and very friendly staff. Welcoming atmosphere to get the latest sports scores or to get recommendations for local places. Calamari appetizer was well-prepared and presented very well. Beverage choice...excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JJOKeeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fun Locals Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Good food, great beer on tap and everyone including staff was friendly and chatty. Its where the caddies from PB go to unwind.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RayPays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
Level Contributor
233 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pub Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Pub food was typical but the friendly staff and warm atmosphere made it an affordable dinner in Carmel. The bonus was being able to watch the SFGiants game.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MumboPetaluma_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brophy's Tavern also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Brophy's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing