We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, convenient stay at Svendsgaard”
Review of Svendsgaard's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Inn
Ranked #13 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice, convenient stay at Svendsgaard”
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Just returned from a two-night stay here... we were placed in room #34 (a queen room). I was not expecting much after reading all the reviews posted here, but to my surprise the room and inn exceeded my expectations. All we cared about was close proximity to all the Ocean Avenue shops and a coffee maker in our room.

Yes, the room is dated (bedspread, furniture, bathroom fixtures) but it was all in working order and very clean. Our bed was comfortable and the shower had great water pressure and the tub was a Jacuzzi style tub. Our check-in was quick as well and we were assisted by a helpful staff member. The best part about the room as our windows - since we were in a corner room, we had two large windows facing West, but not a view of the ocean as there are so many beautiful trees.

We didn't stay there due to the breakfast offered, but as it was included, I thought what we received was appropriate. Cereal in disposable bowls, OJ, a piece of pound cake, a croissant, and fruit... plenty of items to snack/nibble on to carry you over.

The slight negatives I would share is the loud plumbing for shower-time (neighbors) as well as the nearby doors opening and closing. At no time did these noises wake us up or bother us... we just noticed the noise, and would think that it may bother others.

Overall, I would recommend this inn to stay in Carmel by the Sea if you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay with the majority of amenities you would need. It is by no means fancy. As I have lived in Carmel and am familiar with the various inns and hotels in the area, I would recommend this Inn to those looking for a simple place to stay.

  • Liked — Location and parking availability
  • Disliked — Noisy plumbing and hotels loud when closing (would have to push hard at times)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fillerup98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    145
    49
    21
    3
See reviews for
100
206
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2006

While I realise Carmel is an expensive place to stay, Svendsgaard's Inn is poor value for money. I would recommend you don't stay there.

We had a dark room, with tatty fittings, broken furniture and stained bedding. Very thin walls between rooms made it very noisy. An electric socket was broken, as were two windows and the main light was missing a lightbulb. We asked for another lamp as the bedroom was so dark we couldn't read and were told we couldn't have one. Breakfast was very poor.

About the only good thing I can say is it is centrally located.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Eljay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsbytheSea, Guest Relations at Svendsgaard's Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2007
We apologize to this guest for the inadequate accommodations and poor service they received. We take any comments concerning a less-than-perfect performance on our part very seriously and have addressed each issue cited in their review with the entire staff.

The Svendsgaard's Inn along with the other seven Inns by the Sea properties is under new management with a renewed commitment to provide the most comfortable accommodations and gracious hospitality expected by our guests over the past 30 years. We hope this guest will plan a return visit in the near future.

Chris Paim
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2006

I stayed here over La Playa based on these reviews - but what I realized was that Svendgaards may be a little better than a two star, and La Playa is overrated - but the prices are similar. I paid $279 for a two bedroom over the holiday weekend - I would have paid $335 at La Playa and been much happier. The breakfast was very basic but fine for us but the pool was way too cold to swim for more than a few minutes-it may have been a little heated but not much. Blankets and bedspreads and pillows were barely two star, including a few cigarette burns in our blanket. The towels in the bathroom and the shower pressure were 3 plus star, a nice surprise, but everything else is two star. The front desk is not even a one star - rude, abrupt, largely unresponsive - when I went to check out the woman at the front desk looked at me as if I was speaking a foreign language. One other positive - the fireplace in the bedroom.

  • Liked — Fireplace!
  • Disliked — Front desk and cold pool!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsbytheSea, Guest Relations at Svendsgaard's Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2007
We are very sorry this guest did not have a pleasant experience. Because we take any comments concerning a less-than-perfect performance on our part very seriously, the issues cited here are extremely troubling to us... most especially, the rude behavior demonstrated by a member of our front desk staff. Fortunately, the staff member referred to in this review is no longer employed with us.

In reference to the much needed property improvements pointed out by this guest, the Svendsgaard's Inn is under new management and has already made many of these upgrades, however, there is still a lot of work ahead.

We hope the guest visits again.

Chris Paim
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2006

Very disappointing. The room was small, lighting inadequate, paint was peeling from the walls, rug was stained. Dropping a basket of cold food at the door doesn't constitute a B&B. This is a motel. The location was excellent, parking excellent. The outside carpeting was very dirty although the gardens and pool area were very nice.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room appearance & breakfast
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank roreport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2006

This place was great for the price! Cute & friendly staff...
We needed something quick to attend a last-minute weekend wedding in Carmel and my husband and I were really impressed. They have fresh coffee/tea & delicious cookies throughout the day for you. They also keep refreshing ice water w/ orange slices for you to drink so you can re-hydrate after a night of drinking cocktails! Baskets of muffins/juice and fruit are delivered to your door w/ the morning paper...the room is clean and the towels smell Downey fresh. Walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants...pool...nicely landscaped in a pretty area. We would definitely go back again!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the bathroom wasn't very big
  • Tips/Secrets — take advantage of the homebaked cookies in the lobby
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy2travelwmylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2006

At the beginning of several days in Carmel during the July 4th week, my wife and I stayed one night at Svendsgaards, which is part of the Inns by the Sea group of coastal inns, a few of which are in Carmel. We were able to get a great rate ($105+tax) for one weeknight. The inn is standard by Carmel standards; clean rooms, somewhat dated furnishings and not for someone expecting luxury like Spanish Bay or the Lodge at Pebble Beach. But you pick these places for their location and their convenience to the wonderful shopping and restaurants of downtown Carmel and the easy walking distance to Carmel's gorgeous beach.

The inn itself is horseshoe shaped with a smal pool and garden area in the center. The office had a fireplace and seating and put out cookies, although they didn't seem home made. It has it's own parking lot for ~20+ cars which can be a big plus, especially on weekends when Carmel can get quite crowded and finding unrestricted parking can be quite a chore. It's located at the corner of 4th and San Carlos which is about 3-4 blocks from Ocean Ave. We were booked into room #28 which is located on the 2nd (top) floor in the back right corner of the inn. This room had a very comfortable king bed and a separate bathroom which had been recently updated. I'm not sure about other rooms, but we actually had a partial ocean view which was a pleasant surprise.

They put out a continental breakfast basket at your door each morning, but we declined since we were departing early, so I can't speak for what it contains or how good it is. Check in time is 3pm and check out is a generous 12pm. There's no internet connection in the rooms and if you register with Inns by the Sea, you'll receive periodic emails about special rates. I bring this up because after we were inside the the cancellation window , I received such an email that would've allowed us to get the same class of room for just $89+tax, or another $16 less than our already bargain rate.

Overall, when considering the cleanliness, comfortableness and bargain rate, I'd rate this inn a very solid 3-4 out of 5 and would not hestitate to stay their again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rgilmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 29, 2005

Found the staff to be frindly and helpful and the fireplace and jacuzzi elevated the room to above average. Good location

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
593 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Inn

Property: Svendsgaard's Inn
Address: At the corner of San Carlos Street and Fourth Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Svendsgaard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the European ambiance of Svendsgaard’s Inn, the newest pet-friendly lodging in Carmel. Located in the heart of Carmel village, most of the 35 guest rooms and suites overlook the garden courtyard and large heated swimming pool. Accommodations include complimentary in-room wireless internet access, continental breakfast and newspaper delivered to your door each morning and plenty of off-street parking. Most rooms and suites also include fireplaces, kitchens, and spa tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Svendsgaard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing