We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacked warmth and charm”
Review of Svendsgaard's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Inn
Ranked #13 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lacked warmth and charm”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here only one night on our drive back from San Francisco. On our drive up, we also spent a night in Carmel, but at a different inn.
Now this place is not bad, but there are places that are better for the same price. It felt cold and sterile and lacked the warmth and charm of so many other inns that are all over Carmel.
When I booked the room, I chose the inn because they were dog friendly. I was not sure if we were going to bring our dog or not, but just in case, I wanted to stay at a place that would allow him. As soon as we checked in, they handed us a paper to sign saying we did not have a dog with us. I thought that was very weird. Most dog friendly places simply ask if you are traveling with your pet, they didn't ask, just asked us to sign the paper.
Breakfast, was not appealing. We left it untouched in the cooler they left at our door.
There was nothing warm about the decor, the staff, the location, it was all very cold.
In addition to this, when I booked the room, they charged me for two nights and it took them a month to credit me in addition to me having to send them a copy of my billing statement like they didn't even believe they over charged me.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adnyl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    143
    49
    21
    3
See reviews for
99
206
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walton on Thames, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in November and couldn't fault the Inn - lovely people on the front desk who couldn't have been more helpful, comfy room with glimpse of ocean through the pines, easy walk to everything in town, hot drinks and cookies in lobby - what more could we want! We've stayed in several others over the years but would return to Svendsgaards next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nepenthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, tx
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

if you're hoping for a luxurious cottage, this isn't it. this room was the king deluxe suite with fireplace and jacuzzi...the fireplace and the jacuzzi for 2 was AWESOME! our room was very clean and i loved that it had a secondary area for vanity. they brought a light breakfast to the room every morning which was great because we didn't have to get out early to go look for something. it was nice to have a keurig in the room also! the building is old and smells musty but it super clean. we had some noisy people above us and we could basically hear conversations...and other goings on...
all in all a great place to stay! great location and friendly staff also!

Room Tip: it's probably less noisy upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harbono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent three days here over the New Year's holiday, splurging on a deluxe king suite, and it was definitely worth it! The bedroom was very spacious (though, strangely, it had no desk; just the king bed, small table and two chairs, nightstands, TV console, and a cozy gas fireplace). A good-sized separate room provided plenty of space for a luxurious two-person jetted tub, with windows that provided a lovely sunset view; and the bathroom a few steps away included a nice tub/shower and sink with adequate counter space. As other reviewers have noted, this is an older place, but it's well maintained, and service was friendly and helpful. A big plus for us was the fact that our dog (a well-behaved, 65-pound lab) could stay with us. The Inn--and Carmel in general--is truly dog friendly! A nicely maintained garden, with many flowers in bloom, made it easy to take the dog out for a "stroll," as necessary. Another plus is the location--an easy walk to many shops and good restaurants, as well as Carmel's beautiful beach. We'll definitely put Svendgaard's Inn on our "repeat visit" list!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamala4812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We planned an overnight trip to Carmel with our two babies (dog and infant) and was recommended by a friend to stay here. We were not disappointed.

We stayed in Room 21, a suite with kitchenette and fireplace. While the carpet was outdated, the rest of the room was somewhat renovated/updated. The bathroom was CLEAN. The kitchenette was perfect size and used the refrigerator and microwave to store milk and sterilize bottles. There was a coffee machine that was also used by us. We loved the flat screen tv and watched movies while trying to put our son to sleep. Our other son, (four legged) loved the room and slept comfortably on the floor at night.

The service was excellent. We asked for a crib upon reserving the room and it was set up when we checked-in the room. Check out time was at 11:30 am and the staff did not have a problem with us checking out later (as we were running late feeding our infant).

We didn't have a problem with noise even though our room was next to the parking lot. It was more convenient for us as we had plenty of bags and forgot several items in the car and had to retrieve them at night.

Location is excellent and not a far walk to the beach. Overall, my husband and I enjoyed our stay and would stay again with our kids.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattle2sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This is an older facility, kept up very well. Rooms are nice size, the beds are excellent. They have DirecTV and free WiFi. Location is terrific - 2-1/2 (longish) blocks from Ocean Ave. and within easy walking of many good places to eat. A pool for the kiddies and, if you go with a pet, get one of the rooms on the inside courtyard grass green. Plenty of parking and an adequate breakfast by your door in the morning. Not 5 stars, but nice, cozy and friendly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank OpaHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Staff is extremely frIendly and helpful. Charming surroundings - loved the courtyard, which was lit for the holidays, and the cozy fireplace in the reception area. And pretty friendly too! Overall, great place for us to stay and we will come again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalLuvs2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,661 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 25 in Carmel
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Inn

Property: Svendsgaard's Inn
Address: At the corner of San Carlos Street and Fourth Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Svendsgaard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the European ambiance of Svendsgaard’s Inn, the newest pet-friendly lodging in Carmel. Located in the heart of Carmel village, most of the 35 guest rooms and suites overlook the garden courtyard and large heated swimming pool. Accommodations include complimentary in-room wireless internet access, continental breakfast and newspaper delivered to your door each morning and plenty of off-street parking. Most rooms and suites also include fireplaces, kitchens, and spa tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Svendsgaard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing