We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay with great "extra" touches”
Review of Svendsgaard's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stopped at the tourist info booth and was recommended this place. Great place to stay, reasonably priced. Lots of extra touches - coffee, tea and cookies in the lodge. Loved the am breakfast delivery - each morning a breakfast picnic dropped at your door including juice, cereal, fruit, yogurt, pastry. Different selection daily. Bathroom was a bit dated.

Room Tip: We had the king suite with jacuzzi. View of the lower garden, which was very nice. Table and chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k_r_likestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 403 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

We visit Carmel every year in November and have paid some eye watering hotel bills in the past. For the last two years we have stayed at the Svengaard Inn, Intend to do so again this year and we have to say it is excellent value for money.

First of all the place is neat and the gardens well kept, there are excellent parking facilities and the hotel is well located. The staff are first class, polite and very helpful and the VIP prices for returning guests is very welcome.

This place does not pretend to be a 5 star hotel, it is an Inn and offers well proportioned accommodation of an acceptable standard and best of all it gives you a great base from where you can explore beautiful Carmel on foot. Sure there is some noise sometimes, the place is opposite one of Carmel’s best watering holes, which I actually appreciate! It is wrong to criticize the hotel for the noise from passing trade as it has an open aspect. However, you could investigate taking a room at the furthest extent of the property to avoid such nuisance - we do and it’s fine.

We are really looking forward to returning this year.

Room Tip: Take a room furthest from the street if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonHollick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The staff was extremely nice. We had a large room (#12) with a comfortable king-sized bed, jetted tub, microwave, refrigerator and bathroom. Room could have used some updating, but did appreciate touches like the robes. Wi-fi included, but too slow to be of good use. Liked being on the garden level so could easily walk the dog, and appreciated the dog bag dispenser.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Amy707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

First of all the people were very nice. It would be helpful if they actually had an address to put in the GPS. We got there after dark and had the worst time finding it! The garden area and flowers were very pretty, but the room really needs a facelife. There were people wondering around outside during the night, yelling back and forth to each other. The idea of bringing your breakfast in the little cooler is cute, but there must be a lot of waste. Their wasn't much in it that we liked. I hope they don't take the leftovers and give it to the next person! Overall, the people were nice, but it was expensive for what it was.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay there again unless they update the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sequoia311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked this place on the basis of the many 5 star reviews on Tripadvisor - what a let down- the room smelled strongly of urine - whether pet or human I am unsure but definitely urine (I work in healthcare so not a new smell to me).
The tub controls were broken and there were long human hairs on the robe from the last occupant.
Bathroom tap so worn it hardly worked and hairdryer was absolutely caked in dirty & dried-on hair product from use of many previous occupants. We moved last night to another Inn in Carmel and couldn't believe the difference.Only positive note for the Svensgaard's would be the helpful desk staff however it was interesting that we were not told at all about the discounts available at local restaurants whereas we later overheard the receptionist explaining these at great length to other people who were booking in.
Would never stay at the Svensgaard's again - do not believe all the great reviews - I personally am wondering who on earth wrote them.

Room Tip: Look at rooms before checking in - if you are not happy - look at another one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our stay at the Inn was a delightful one starting with hot cookies and beverages on our afternoon arrival. Our room was the size of a suite with a eating area, refer and fireplace. The appointments were luxury including a bed that was the best we enjoyed on our entire trip. Breakfast was a basket delivered in the AM including cereal,milk, oj, fruit, muffin and pastry. There was an in room Keurig coffeemaker. It was nice to curl up in one of the comfy reading chairs, with reading lights enveloped in the soft, warm bathrobes. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect so we were able to leave our car in the lot and walk everywhere in Carmel. We will return happily.

Room Tip: Room 24 next to the office was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumboPetaluma_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Once again, Svendsgaard's has exceeded our expectations! We stayed for 3 nights in August and our room was lovely. The service at this Inn was, as always, nothing short of perfection. Raquel and her team continue to provide professional, friendly, and efficient services. The rooms are clean and the property is perfectly situated for walking to the beach and restaurants. The pool is heated to the perfect temperature and is always very clean. Also, the gardens at Svendsgaard's are absolutely beautiful. A lovely home away from home that I would recommend to anyone staying in Carmel.

Room Tip: The room upstairs do not allow pets while the rooms downstairs allow dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
622 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Inn

Address: At the corner of San Carlos Street and Fourth Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $173 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Svendsgaard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the European ambiance of Svendsgaard’s Inn, the newest pet-friendly lodging in Carmel. Located in the heart of Carmel village, most of the 35 guest rooms and suites overlook the garden courtyard and large heated swimming pool. Accommodations include complimentary in-room wireless internet access, continental breakfast and newspaper delivered to your door each morning and plenty of off-street parking. Most rooms and suites also include fireplaces, kitchens, and spa tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Svendsgaard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing