We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Times”
Review of Svendsgaard's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Inn
Ranked #10 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Took a "Chick Trip" with sisters to re-visit Carmel and stay where we stayed with our parents decades ago...Svendsgaards Inn. Inn may be on the older side, but is still very charming and well-maintained. We were astonished at the generous breakfast goodies left outside our door every morning we were there. Also, an easy walk to the center of Carmel Village. Great stay all-around.

Room Tip: View of gardens was great from second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 423 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

We frequently go to the Carmel area. Whenever friends visit us from out-of-state or from another country they generally want to go to Carmel. We always take them to Svendsgaard's Inn where they are made to feel as welcome and comfortable as "frequent guests." The prices, accomodations, service, and location are wonderful.

Room Tip: Charm and location location and location, rooms are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

very close to town(walking distance from the Inn),rooms are very comfortable,very helpful workers,very easy to find with parking availability,A wonderful place to stay,lovely lush grounds and clean pool,breakfast delivery in the morning is a wonderful touch.I would recommend this place highly and will hope to visit again in the future

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nisky648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this cute B&B at least ten times and I have never been disappointed. The friendly staff and great location make this a favorite. I have found the cheapest rates are mid-week. Don't hesitate to ask to see the different rooms they have available. The price varies widely and you will find that some rooms have more to off then others. Decor not fancy but rooms being updated. Always clean. Short walk into many nice restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neelieniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We always feel welcome here. Great room with jacuzzi and fireplace. Close to everything. Easy stroll to town...no driving needed. Breakfast is delivered with the paper everyday. Cookies and coffee is always on. Pleasant pool. Great grassy area for the dogs. Quiet and peaceful.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Losgatosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a great Inn. Has everything you could want, homey, comfortable and in a great location. You can walk to just about everything, yet it's in a quiet location. The two men working in the office couldn't have been nicer or more welcoming. Lovely courtyard. Breakfast dropped outside the door was enough for two breakfasts. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixie1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed Friday thru Monday, Service was great, room was large, we stayed in a Std King room. The room was clean.The breakfast left at your door stop every morning was plentiful, fruit, cereal, yogurt, danish and orange juice, it was enough to hold me over until lunch. Great location, walking distance to everything. There is a great pub right across the street that serves all three meals, Brophy's Tavern. We will definitly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 8, it is a Std king, Big room, corner unit, has lots of windows. You can here the ocean at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#14 of 25 in Carmel
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#18 of 25 in Carmel
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Inn

Address: At the corner of San Carlos Street and Fourth Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $171 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Svendsgaard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the European ambiance of Svendsgaard’s Inn, the newest pet-friendly lodging in Carmel. Located in the heart of Carmel village, most of the 35 guest rooms and suites overlook the garden courtyard and large heated swimming pool. Accommodations include complimentary in-room wireless internet access, continental breakfast and newspaper delivered to your door each morning and plenty of off-street parking. Most rooms and suites also include fireplaces, kitchens, and spa tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Svendsgaard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing