We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome management, immaculate facility, great location”
Review of Svendsgaard's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Inn
Ranked #12 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Arrowhead
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome management, immaculate facility, great location”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

It seems that no matter where my wife and I travel, we make it a point to spend at least three days in Carmel at Svendsgaard's--and it invariably seems to be the highlight of our trip! The staff is friendly and accommodating. The terrific Inn Manager Raquel Randolph seems to take a direct and personal interest in making sure everything is just right. Example: I gazed out my room window at 6 am, and saw her busily inspecting the grounds, picking up an errant piece of paper, re-positioning the patio tables and chairs, etc. To me, that concern with the "little" things reflects on how well the Inn is managed--and it's managed extremely well. The rooms are immaculate, the beds comfortable, the basket breakfast satisfying (with a USA Today), and the nights are quiet and peaceful. During our most recent stay, we couldn't get a picture on the TV, but within 5 minutes an assistant was there and corrected the programming problem. As it turned out, we didn't watch much TV anyway--we, after all, were in Carmel. The Inn's town location is great for day or evening jaunts to the many shops or restaurants. While the Inn has no exercise facility, Carmel will beckon you to walk--and walk--with the sound of the ocean as accompanying background music. The ocean is only about a 15 minute walk from the Inn, or a few minutes drive. We usually take a lunch with us: a sandwich from Luca's, and sides from Nielsen's Market. Paradise!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    141
    48
    21
    3
See reviews for
99
203
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have been staying there for over 20 years, so I guess that pretty much says it all. We love the location, easy walk to downtown and all the restaurants. A good breakfast with the local newspaper every morning to get our day started plus in room coffee maker. The staff has always been very friendly and extremely helpful. The grounds and facility are always clean as well as our rooms. Though I must admit it is past time to replace the flowered bedspreads, they have worn very well, as I can remember when they first arrived many years ago.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Miriam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was really worried because I had booked the 'value room' - a single Queen room for about £80. I thought in pricey Carmel it would be really small. It wasn't at all. The room was lovely, a good size with a good comfortable bed. It was decorated nicely. there was good wifi. The coffee, maker in the room served the best coffee I've had in any hotel in any country. The bathroom was small with good shampoo, conditioner and soap. We received a breakfast basket outside our room which included cereal, fruit, yoghurt, milk (and they gave us more when we asked), pastry and juice. it was a real pleasure eating sat in the motel patio in the sunshine. There was a fine warm pool which we had no time to use. The reception staff were extremely helpful. The hotel was smack in the centre of town. We were given a list of restaurants that would give us 10 to 15% discounts on showing our hotel key. To be frank this was a great choice - I just wish I'd stayed there 3 nights not one nad not had two awful nights in Monterey at a Super 8

Room Tip: The Value rooms are good value if you can live with a 1 queen bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Svendsgaard's Inn for two nights, travelling with friends. We found it through the Tourist Info office - a great way to find accommodation last minute if you don't need to book ahead. Some good walk in rates too. We were able to look at the rooms before we checked in. Our rooms were really very comfortable - both with jacuzzi baths and showers and massive beds. The staff on reception are welcoming and very helpful. We had a problem with our TV - user error, nothing to do with the set - but it was sorted quickly and left on the channel showing the Olympics for us as we returned from dinner. Eating out in Carmel is easy and there is lots of choice. The Inn had a flyer with lots of deals with local restaurants. Try da Giovanni - the bistro - for EXCELLENT Italian, good wine and great service. I enjoyed the breakfast at the Inn very much. As we were sightseeing we were on a busy schedule so the breakfast box was perfect. They also have some of the best cookies I tasted this holiday in reception.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MinkyOne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This was our second stay at Svendsgaard's and the first without the kids. The Inn is charming and the staff is very helpful. The room we stayed in was fine, but had a bit of an odor when we arrived and had to open the windows. Good thing it was a cool night and when we returned from dinner it aired out. The rooms and bathroom could certainly use an upgrade but we had a very comfortable stay. The breakfasts are just ok, but we recommend you go to one of the local restaurants for a real, fresh breakfasts. The "picnic" breakfasts contained not very appetizing baked goods (croissants and pastries), fruit, juice, cereal, and milk. However, despite these issues, we very much enjoyed our stay and Svendsgaard's offers a good value for the money and is just a short walk to Casanova Restaurant and Ocean Ave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phineas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

While we did not get what we thought we had booked 1st floor and fire place, the room was adequate for older motel. Staff was helpful. Breakfast delivered to door with paper very nice. Convenient for walking around town, parking provided is a plus.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsenjoyinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Svensgaard's Inn in Carmel while we traveled Pacific Coast Hwy from San Francisco to LA earlier this month. The city of Carmel and this wonderful inn really surprised us. I had just assumed Carmel would be as expensive as San Francisco but it was very, very reasonable and spectacularly beautiful. The Svendsgaard's Inn is very dog-friendly with a beautiful courtyard, best front desk personnel - and consistently so. Our room was just perfect - great beds, linens, freebies (shampoo etc all earth-friendly) plus and THIS was such a wonderful surprise - breakfast delivered at your doorstep! Yes - at some point around 6:30 the staff makes their rounds with a breakfast cooler containing milk, juice, yogurt, cereal, muffins, butter and the local paper. My adult-aged daughter was so entranced she got up early to see if she could catch "Santa Claus" in the act! Highly recommend this wonderful, charming hotel. If ever we're on the west coast south of San Francisco, we will most definitely stay here again...only this time much longer! Beach within walking distance - gorgeous, too. I think I can speak for my daughter too - we feel this is the most charming/friendliest most helpful front desk/ and best value that we've ever encountered on a trip anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Inn

Property: Svendsgaard's Inn
Address: At the corner of San Carlos Street and Fourth Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Svendsgaard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the European ambiance of Svendsgaard’s Inn, the newest pet-friendly lodging in Carmel. Located in the heart of Carmel village, most of the 35 guest rooms and suites overlook the garden courtyard and large heated swimming pool. Accommodations include complimentary in-room wireless internet access, continental breakfast and newspaper delivered to your door each morning and plenty of off-street parking. Most rooms and suites also include fireplaces, kitchens, and spa tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Svendsgaard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing