We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Svendsgaard's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Inn
Ranked #12 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

When visiting Carmel we always stay at Svendsgaard's Inn knowing our requested room will be ready for us even when arriving prior to the normal check in. The personnel is responsive to any requests we may have and love the cookies and coffee. We stay at least 4 times every year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    136
    47
    20
    3
See reviews for
98
198
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

We spent 2 nights over Christmas week at Svendsgaard Inn....we had our Golden Retriever with us. The property, although a little older, is very clean and well maintained. Our room was very spacious (maybe twice as big as most hotel rooms), and had a gas fireplace. They bring a breakfast to your front door every morning which consisted of cereal, yogurt, fruit, muffin, and juice for 2 people. There's a nice lawn area for your dog to do his business, and waste disposal bags are provided. It's only about 3 blocks to Ocean Blvd. in Carmel, with lots of good shops & restaurants. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: You can choose either upstairs, or downstairs - the latter is probably.if you have a dog ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dononlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here in February. Overall the experience was positive, but there were some notable detractors. On the plus side, the room was spacious and quiet and the fireplace came in handy in the mist and cold. On the minus side, the feather mattress cover had been bunched into the middle of the bed, so the first night was rather uncomfortable. The staff replaced the cover the next day, but the bed was really never a luxurious sleeping experience. We tried to pass on the breakfast they deliver to your door each day -- sort of like a school lunch, with cereal, a banana, milk and orange juice -- but despite asking at the front desk every day not to get a breakfast, every morning we got one anyway.

This place is right up the street from the Candlelight Inn, which is similarly priced and has similar amenities.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jank360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

This was our first time staying in Carmel, and I wasn't sure on which property to stay. We took a chance on picking the Svendsgaard's Inn and was pleasantly surprised! The gentleman at the front desk was very friendly. The property was kept after and very clean. We got the premium suite on the last minute booking and were pleasantly surprised! Our room was nice and large with a great fireplace. It had a small kitchen which was also very nice and useful! Loved the King size bed! It was very soft & comfortable! Our room was located upstairs almost at the end, and it was very quiet. In the morning, it was nice to find the continental breakfast packed in a small cooler right outside of our room.
The property has a nice sized parking lot. We were able to leave our car there and stroll about 3 blocks to downtown for lunch, dinner, and shops. After dinner, it was nice to have a few drinks right across the street at Brophy's pub. Very convenient being able to walk everywhere!

We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Upstairs king suite nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

I travelled with my husband here in Carmel for the very first in a long time getaway together without our 3 kids. Carmel is such a lovely place. This inn is okay to me, very cute place. I love the setup of the lobby, the fireplace, fresh cookies and coffee for free!! The front desk person is very friendly. The room is clean, but smelly one. As soon as we entered the room, the room smells, but it is not offensive smell. I was so glad I brought lysol with me though. I guess it is because the facility is old and pet friendly? the landscape is well maintained and very cozy. Our room was located on the first floor almost the corner of the building. I love the jacuzzi and the rest of the bathroon area, plus I love the fireplace in the room, very romantic. The bed is not as comfortable as I thought and the furnitures are outdated and almost wornout. After hour service (after 10pm), the InnKeeper would not answer the phone call even if you leave a message to get back to you. This is very disappointing for me. The breakfast was all packed up in a cooler by 7:30am at your frontdoor with freshly baked banana and zuccini bread with yogult, juice and fruits. The breakfast is really good that I cannot complain about that. You can either eat inn or take it by the beach.I guess for the price, I cannot complain. I used up my Groupon voucher for this. But, I would never pay full price for the place.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors if you are travelling without pets or want more romantic moment and maybe a bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

We were greeted by a very friendly staff. The grounds were beautifully kept and there were freshly baked cookies in the lobby. Our room was spacious and very "homey". We had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

This was a great place for New Years Eve weekend and very reasonable. Love that they are very dog friendly and in a great location. Also, love that they give you your breakfast in little coolers at your door so you can wake up when you want and have your breakfast in your room. It is a decent breakfast as well,

The only downside was that the beds are not the most comfortable but not too bad and the room was a little musty but what do you expect for the price and having many dogs as guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shannygans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Inn

Property: Svendsgaard's Inn
Address: At the corner of San Carlos Street and Fourth Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Svendsgaard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the European ambiance of Svendsgaard’s Inn, the newest pet-friendly lodging in Carmel. Located in the heart of Carmel village, most of the 35 guest rooms and suites overlook the garden courtyard and large heated swimming pool. Accommodations include complimentary in-room wireless internet access, continental breakfast and newspaper delivered to your door each morning and plenty of off-street parking. Most rooms and suites also include fireplaces, kitchens, and spa tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Svendsgaard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing