We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imaginative and innovative tasting menu. Wonderful food!”

Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel
Reserve with OpenTable
Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 158 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 7th
Description: Executive Chef Justin Cogley's and Executive Pastry Chef Ron Mendoza's cooking philosophy is built first and foremost on spontaneity. With access to an array of outstanding local products as well as ingredients and artisan purveyors from around the world, Cogley and Mendoza focus on incorporating these elements into their ever-changing menus.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Imaginative and innovative tasting menu. Wonderful food!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were lucky to be staying locally on a month tour of California when Aubergine offered its 'Spice' tasting menu on the first Tuesday of August. From the moment we arrived, which was a touch early, we were attended to in an unpretentious, yet sophisticated way which befits a restaurant at the cutting edge of fine dining. Cocktails were refreshingly original - Paper Plane and Last Word. And soon we were seated for the tasting menu with accompanying wines.

To start, braised carrots in a variety of realisations with wattleseed yogurt showing a delicate spectrum of flavours, followed by prawns with carefully blended Indian spices. Then, succulent lamb loin with Moroccan spices, followed by a medley of interpretations of vanilla for dessert. All delicious and cooked in a way that felt honest and individual.

The restaurant staff were absolutely lovely and happily allowed us to meet to Chef Justin and Sous Chef Aaron in the kitchens, which rounded off a really memorable night. Special mention to Nathaniel and David for looking after us.

We'd love to come back soon, but it's quite a few miles from Bournemouth, England!

All the very best to all of you at Aubergine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beakybogwoppit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    26
    14
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
monterey,ca.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vietnamese 4-course dinner”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had been looking forward for weeks for this special dinner paired with wines with each course!!! The maitre'd sat us immediately..... the menu was set on the table... no cocktails were offered.....the maitre'd arrived and explained this menu and asked if we wanted to add the whole fish course for $26. per person with the wine paired also. My lady friend and I love this restaurant and wanted to experience all so we went ahead with this option. Service was excellent! We've been to many wine pairing dinners and felt the sommelier was extremely reserved with the wine pouring. If we did not order the Brazino fish, we would have left hungry!! The first 2 courses were delicious but the pho course was so ridiculously small, it was an embarrassment.The small bites were delicious and will think twice about another wine-dinner pairing.... Our $85. dinner turned to be$150. Money is no object, however, value received, Tuesday night, was not up to Aubergine standards...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank montsalasmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loma Linda, California
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top notch food and service to match.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It's been a year since we enjoyed Aubergine. If anything, it's better! The restaurant has been remodeled and a cheese cave has been added. The wine list is excellent. The menu is presented as a four course menu or a tasting menu. Go for the tasting menu, only $30 more. Foodie heaven.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, CA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've had. Ever.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

An exquisite procession of courses, each a small work of art. This is the place to go for a truly special dining experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ceip312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Spectacular Michelin Standards Food and Service”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I celebrated my 75th birthday dinner here... My wife and I eat in Michelin Starred restaurants in both France and the US...This restaurant definitely exceeds most Michelin Starred Restaurants we have eaten at, especially in Northern California. Very deserving of at least a two star recognition. We had the eight course tasting, with a unbelievable wine premium pairing! It was fabulous. The ingredients were fresh, flavors unique, and many courses were different than anything we had ever had! Each of the tasting menu courses was excellant, there was nothing we did not just marvel at; spectacular to say the least.
The chef, just received the best young new chef award, for 2013! The pastry chef previously worked at the French Laundry.
Both very very accomplished! Visited the beautiful wine cellar, with a vast assortment of great wines from throughout the world. I recommend this restaurant the highest it could be rated! In Northern California, I do not think there is one better than Aubergine including those restaurants who have garnered two or three Michelin Stars....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josmshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing