We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great atmosphere , good food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christopher's on Lincoln

Christopher's on Lincoln
Reserve with OpenTable
Christopher's on Lincoln is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: One of Carmel's newest and most exciting dining experience is Christopher's on Lincoln. Award winning chef/owner Christopher J. Caul has transformed one of the village's oldest restaurant locations into a modern, fun, and friendly dinner house. Dress is Carmel casual and the attitude laid back and contemporary, so guests feel comfortable in everything from shorts to suits. Charming and affable, Christopher's cuisine is sublime. Christopher's 30 years of experience as well as his three former restaurants have culminated in a menu that showcases the finest, freshest seasonal ingredients the Central Coast has to offer. Christopher's wine list features mostly Monterey County wines, as well as his favorites from around the state. Christopher's also features a full bar with some of the finest handcrafted spirits available. Christopher is right where he loves to be; come say hello soon!
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
352 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere , good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Our last night in Carmel for dinner before heading back to Fl. Very nice atmosphere, Son and I tried the braised spare ribs, wives had fish and salmon plate. All dinners served hot and prepared well, I would say the salmon was probably the best meal. Our braised ribs were good, but not what I would expect from a high end restaurant. Almost seemed like they were cooked in a "crock pot " ? Meat dallying off the bone, had a bar b que taste . Atmosphere, and wine menu is excellent, would try again, but Order different entrée.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Villagesre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    59
    24
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Strong Cuisine, But Questions Re Management”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We chose Christopher’s based on a recommendation of friends, and confirmed by the restaurant's many favorable reviews on TripAdvisor. We enjoyed our first visit so much that we returned two nights later for more. In short, we liked every dish we ate, though, as mentioned later, we later began to question if everything was right in the restaurant’s management.

Christopher’s is a romantic restaurant with separate spaces that create a more intimate atmosphere. Except for a table of loud party goers the first night, the restaurant was very quiet, perhaps due to its being less than half full each night in the middle of the week. The first night we shared a flavor-filled, green bean, beet, walnut and chevre salad to start ($11). For entrees, we chose an excellent, pan-seared Muscovy duck breast ($24) and a tasty, seared salmon piccata ($24.50).

On our second visit, we shared a smoked salmon salad appetizer ($12), followed by entrees consisting of a seared Idaho trout ($24) and a pan-seared pork chop ($24 on the menu but $28 on the bill). All entrees came with a small portion of scrumptious crispy red creamers or garlic mashed potatoes and vegetables. With a couple of glasses of a very solid California Pinot Noir ($10), our final tab, including tip and tax, was about $110.

The staff was friendly, attentive, and eager, but several seemed to be new to the restaurant or part-timers. Curiously, when leaving we noticed a $4.00 discrepancy between the pork chop’s price on the restaurant’s table menu ($24) and the $28 amount that the restaurant actually charged to our bill. When questioned, the waiter seemed surprised and suggested that we call Christopher (the chef-owner who was not working that night) the next day to discuss it (which we didn’t bother to do).

We were impressed that the kitchen crew had turned out very good food without hands-on management present. Final note: There is a significant difference between the dishes listed, and the pricing shown, on Christopher’s “Sample Menu” on its website and the actual dishes and pricing in the restaurant; and actual restaurant prices are often about 10 - 15% higher than the prices shown on Christopher’s internet “Sample Menu.” In any event, we hope that Christopher’s can straighten out these management issues before it affects what otherwise could potentially be an excellent restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LACritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Romantic Restaurant in the Heart of Carmel-By-The-Sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Christopher's on Lincoln last Saturday. My wife is a major foodie and we both absolutely loved our dinners. She started with the Cornmeal Crusted Spicy Chili Relleno which was excellent. A really nice heat and great flavor. I had the Tequila & Lime House-Cured Salmon. It was all good except I had my taste buds set for smoked salmon instead of cured salmon. It was topped with an amazing crispy potato cake and arugula. For our main course my wife had the Braised New Zealand Lamb Shank. We are both lamb lovers and this was a very large and perfectly cooked shank. I had a special of the evening, Chicken Cordon Bleu. It was absolutely amazing and I hope it stays on the menu for you! We did bring our own bottle of wine to celebrate with and there was no corkage. We did have some nice martinis from their bartender to start us off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LocalPeddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Old fashined, disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We read the good reviews and the basic setting was very nice, the interior is old fashioned formal, and the food was very ordinary and over priced for the quality. Service was efficient but indifferent., the servers did their job but there was zero interaction with us. there are more attractive and lively restaurants in Carmel with better food for the money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rick422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our Best Meal in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The dining room is elegant and comfortable and the food is skillfully prepared, but not outrageously expensive. The short ribs were probably the best I've ever had - moist, tender and flavourful. We ate at several restaurants in the Carmel/Monterey area and this was the best meal of our trip. TIP: Christopher's is one of the restaurants that will waive corkage if you bring in a bottle of wine purchased at "A Taste of Monterey", the wonderful tasting room on Cannery Row (in the long building next to Bubba Gump's) which features a wide assortment of Monterey regional wines and a great view of the bay. Make sure that there is a sticker on the back of the bottle and pick up a brochure that lists all of the area restaurants in this programme.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christopher's on Lincoln also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Christopher's on Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing