We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Restaurant in the Heart of Carmel-By-The-Sea”

Christopher's on Lincoln
Reserve with OpenTable
Christopher's on Lincoln is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: One of Carmel's newest and most exciting dining experience is Christopher's on Lincoln. Award winning chef/owner Christopher J. Caul has transformed one of the village's oldest restaurant locations into a modern, fun, and friendly dinner house. Dress is Carmel casual and the attitude laid back and contemporary, so guests feel comfortable in everything from shorts to suits. Charming and affable, Christopher's cuisine is sublime. Christopher's 30 years of experience as well as his three former restaurants have culminated in a menu that showcases the finest, freshest seasonal ingredients the Central Coast has to offer. Christopher's wine list features mostly Monterey County wines, as well as his favorites from around the state. Christopher's also features a full bar with some of the finest handcrafted spirits available. Christopher is right where he loves to be; come say hello soon!
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Romantic Restaurant in the Heart of Carmel-By-The-Sea”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Christopher's on Lincoln last Saturday. My wife is a major foodie and we both absolutely loved our dinners. She started with the Cornmeal Crusted Spicy Chili Relleno which was excellent. A really nice heat and great flavor. I had the Tequila & Lime House-Cured Salmon. It was all good except I had my taste buds set for smoked salmon instead of cured salmon. It was topped with an amazing crispy potato cake and arugula. For our main course my wife had the Braised New Zealand Lamb Shank. We are both lamb lovers and this was a very large and perfectly cooked shank. I had a special of the evening, Chicken Cordon Bleu. It was absolutely amazing and I hope it stays on the menu for you! We did bring our own bottle of wine to celebrate with and there was no corkage. We did have some nice martinis from their bartender to start us off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LocalPeddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    61
    28
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
126 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Old fashined, disappointing”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We read the good reviews and the basic setting was very nice, the interior is old fashioned formal, and the food was very ordinary and over priced for the quality. Service was efficient but indifferent., the servers did their job but there was zero interaction with us. there are more attractive and lively restaurants in Carmel with better food for the money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rick422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Our Best Meal in Carmel”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The dining room is elegant and comfortable and the food is skillfully prepared, but not outrageously expensive. The short ribs were probably the best I've ever had - moist, tender and flavourful. We ate at several restaurants in the Carmel/Monterey area and this was the best meal of our trip. TIP: Christopher's is one of the restaurants that will waive corkage if you bring in a bottle of wine purchased at "A Taste of Monterey", the wonderful tasting room on Cannery Row (in the long building next to Bubba Gump's) which features a wide assortment of Monterey regional wines and a great view of the bay. Make sure that there is a sticker on the back of the bottle and pick up a brochure that lists all of the area restaurants in this programme.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slightly off the beaten path in downtown Carmel ...Delicious!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

On LIncoln between 5th and 6th, we heard about this restaurant through Miraflores Winery, a lovely Winery in El Dorado County California. The mushroom soup was the best we have had anywhere. We also had the seasonal mushroom appetizer (Chantrelles) on a bed of creamy polenta, For main course I had the Cornmeal crusted trout which was delicately sweet, fresh and zero bones! Hubby had the halibut, again perfectly fresh and well cooked in a bed of fresh vegetables and broth.
Having dined at many places in Carmel, we will put this one on the 'must revisit' list for our twice annual treks here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank benning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A nice place to eat in Carmel be the Sea”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the hotel as serving good honest meals using fresh ingredients all sourced locally. I had the salmon and was not disappointed. The servings were generous and the staff attentive. The restaurant is housed in a quaint timber cottage overlooking an beautiful courtyard lit with fairy lights at night.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christopher's on Lincoln also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Christopher's on Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing