We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashined, disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Christopher's on Lincoln

Christopher's on Lincoln
Reserve with OpenTable
Christopher's on Lincoln is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: One of Carmel's newest and most exciting dining experience is Christopher's on Lincoln. Award winning chef/owner Christopher J. Caul has transformed one of the village's oldest restaurant locations into a modern, fun, and friendly dinner house. Dress is Carmel casual and the attitude laid back and contemporary, so guests feel comfortable in everything from shorts to suits. Charming and affable, Christopher's cuisine is sublime. Christopher's 30 years of experience as well as his three former restaurants have culminated in a menu that showcases the finest, freshest seasonal ingredients the Central Coast has to offer. Christopher's wine list features mostly Monterey County wines, as well as his favorites from around the state. Christopher's also features a full bar with some of the finest handcrafted spirits available. Christopher is right where he loves to be; come say hello soon!
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
108 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Old fashined, disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We read the good reviews and the basic setting was very nice, the interior is old fashioned formal, and the food was very ordinary and over priced for the quality. Service was efficient but indifferent., the servers did their job but there was zero interaction with us. there are more attractive and lively restaurants in Carmel with better food for the money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rick422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    54
    23
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Our Best Meal in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The dining room is elegant and comfortable and the food is skillfully prepared, but not outrageously expensive. The short ribs were probably the best I've ever had - moist, tender and flavourful. We ate at several restaurants in the Carmel/Monterey area and this was the best meal of our trip. TIP: Christopher's is one of the restaurants that will waive corkage if you bring in a bottle of wine purchased at "A Taste of Monterey", the wonderful tasting room on Cannery Row (in the long building next to Bubba Gump's) which features a wide assortment of Monterey regional wines and a great view of the bay. Make sure that there is a sticker on the back of the bottle and pick up a brochure that lists all of the area restaurants in this programme.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slightly off the beaten path in downtown Carmel ...Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

On LIncoln between 5th and 6th, we heard about this restaurant through Miraflores Winery, a lovely Winery in El Dorado County California. The mushroom soup was the best we have had anywhere. We also had the seasonal mushroom appetizer (Chantrelles) on a bed of creamy polenta, For main course I had the Cornmeal crusted trout which was delicately sweet, fresh and zero bones! Hubby had the halibut, again perfectly fresh and well cooked in a bed of fresh vegetables and broth.
Having dined at many places in Carmel, we will put this one on the 'must revisit' list for our twice annual treks here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank benning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A nice place to eat in Carmel be the Sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the hotel as serving good honest meals using fresh ingredients all sourced locally. I had the salmon and was not disappointed. The servings were generous and the staff attentive. The restaurant is housed in a quaint timber cottage overlooking an beautiful courtyard lit with fairy lights at night.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wow! American food at it's best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

You simply must try Christopher's on Lincoln. Everything about this little restaurant is cool,and magic all in one. I wish this restaurant was on my home street. All of this and at a sensible price!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndyReflect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christopher's on Lincoln also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Christopher's on Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing