We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Private Event” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christopher's on Lincoln

Christopher's on Lincoln
Reserve with OpenTable
Christopher's on Lincoln is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: One of Carmel's newest and most exciting dining experience is Christopher's on Lincoln. Award winning chef/owner Christopher J. Caul has transformed one of the village's oldest restaurant locations into a modern, fun, and friendly dinner house. Dress is Carmel casual and the attitude laid back and contemporary, so guests feel comfortable in everything from shorts to suits. Charming and affable, Christopher's cuisine is sublime. Christopher's 30 years of experience as well as his three former restaurants have culminated in a menu that showcases the finest, freshest seasonal ingredients the Central Coast has to offer. Christopher's wine list features mostly Monterey County wines, as well as his favorites from around the state. Christopher's also features a full bar with some of the finest handcrafted spirits available. Christopher is right where he loves to be; come say hello soon!
FRESNO
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Private Event”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

About fifty us attended a private dinner at Christopher's and although it was noisy with all fifty people engaged in conversation the restaurant did a great job. The staff and owners were very attentive, friendly and provided excellent service especially considering that we were all seated and served at the same time. I had the salmon with lemon-butter and it proved to be an excellent choice. Several in our group got the few shortrib entrees that were available and they loved it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vintage1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    55
    24
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing experience! Don't use groupon here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We are local. My next door neighbor and I decided to purchase a Groupon to use at Christopher's because we had heard good reviews about the place and wanted to check it out. The 4 of us sat down at 6:30 and didn't walk out until 9:40!....3 hours! This is not a Michelin 3-star restaurant!!!! Our waiter was inattentive and overall service was slow. Patrons near us sat down after us and left before us, which led us to believe that maybe it was the fact that we were using a groupon and had already paid, so we could be 2nd fiddle to the other customers.

As far as the food goes, it was average at best. The chile relleno and carpaccio appetizers were good, the clams with sausage were ok. The mixed green salad had too much dressing, the Caesar salad was warm and wilted and the dressing....I've tasted better out of a bottle. The mushroom soup was good. The pork chop was good, the swordfish overcooked, the sauce on the beef ribs too sweet, the lamb shank was good, but too salty. For dessert, I chose a the mixed berry tart. It turned out to be a dried out puff pastry with a dollop of custard on top and a few berries dropped on it. What a disappointment! The server never asked us if we wanted any coffee.

Aside from the poor service, the clincher came when we were ordering our wine. Our Groupon entitled us to a Monterey County bottle of wine with value up to $45. We were told that the only wines that were available to us were the bottles of wine that were sold by the glass, which are inexpensive wines. There was only one Monterey County wine in this section, and it was an inexpensive white. The cabernet that I ordered was Grayson Cellars 2010, which retails in the $9-10 range. There were several Mo. Co. wines on the list that met the $45 value threshold that are very good, as I have had them before. This is business morality?

Based upon my experience, I can not recommend this place. There are too many good restaurants in this area that provide a level of service and food quality that you expect when you go out to dine

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Food, Noisy Dining Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a salmon special (grilled with balsamic glaze over lentils cooked with chard and bacon) and the filet. The food was very good, but the dining room was incredibly noisy due to the bar. The dining room was not packed, so I can only imagine how noisy it might be if it had been. Service was okay, not as bad as others have mentioned. The wines by the glass list was pretty limited, but the wines were interesting. The dining room is very pretty and the food was good, so it's too bad that this affects one's overall impression of the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Skip it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I picked up a Groupon for this place, and checked reviews before purchasing. The reviews were good, so I figured we were OK. The Groupon was a great deal as well. We arrived and there's no hostess to seat you. There was ONE waiter for the ENTIRE place - poor guy was so frazzled and scattered. We were very patient and just rolled with it. The cocktails were good - but then the wine that went with the Groupon was pretty bad. The service was extremely slow - but again - there was truly just ONE waiter and ONE busser - so they were overwhelmed as the place filled up. The food was OK - nothing amazing - but generous portions. Got the wrong salad from what I ordered - but I was never checked on - so I just ate it. The bathroom is outside under a staircase - feels a bit like having to hike to a camping outhouse. There are so many super fine places to eat in Carmel, that this one is just not worth the price or hassle.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allamanda777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very, very good food, a bit bumpy service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

There's not much to say: The food was really outstanding (lamp shank, Crapaggio, salad and Chicken breast ), the prices absolutely fair and restaurant a really nice place, even though very very loud since it was totally packed. The people were literally screaming at each other!
The service was a bumpy, made it up with friendlyness and politeness.
So the food was definetely worth the small minud points.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClemensHummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christopher's on Lincoln also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Christopher's on Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing