We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Must Do When in Carmel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach

Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach
Ranked #2 of 108 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The water is brisk and the surf is hazardous, but the amazing views from the shore will draw you like a magnet to these striking white sand beaches for a leisurely stroll or picnic.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must Do When in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

It isn't a visit to see the family in Carmel Valley without an afternoon at the beach. We like the south side of Carmel Beach and enjoy having a quiet picnic while watching the waves and local surfers. Have found some great sea glass too!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shanny Bella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,191
    325
    37
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
206 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Spectacular beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Easy to get to - just down the main street. There is free parking at the entrance to the beach and we lucked out and got a spot up close. There were a lot of people but the beach NEVER looked crowded or even close to that because it's so huge! This seemed to be a fun area to hang out in. Keep driving along the road to your right and see some fabulous beachfront houses. We then, merged onto 17 mile drive to take a look at that.

The street leading to the beach has a great vibe with lots of restaurants and shops.
Next trip, I think I'd like to stay in Carmel for a day or two!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank triptik123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful and very dog friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The carmel beach is one of the world's most beautiful beaches and is a great place to let your dog run free. At one end is Pebble Beach golf course and it is an easy climb up to see both the 9th and 10th holes. Dolphins were visible in the ocean when we were there in the morning.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank baybee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Hands down best beach in Cali! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Everything from the sand to the views of Pebble Beach this is the best beach in California. My family and I love to have picnics and have our dogs and kids run around. Note: if your dog does not play nice with others DO NOT bring them!!!!

A lot of us locals hanging out and enjoying where we live. You can also have bone fires at certain spots.

ENJOY!

Helpful?
Thank Surfkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
426 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“The softest sand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had been traveling the Pacific Coast highway all the way from the tip of Washington and this sand was ultra-soft. We had a nice stroll along the beach in the early morning. Others were out, but it wasn't too crowded. The skies were overcast, but our moods light as we listened to the waves and viewed Carmel and the Pebble Beach golf course.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing