We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The softest sand!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel City Beach/Carmel River Beach

Carmel City Beach/Carmel River Beach
Ranked #2 of 109 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The water is brisk and the surf is hazardous, but the amazing views from the shore will draw you like a magnet to these striking white sand beaches for a leisurely stroll or picnic.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
460 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“The softest sand!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had been traveling the Pacific Coast highway all the way from the tip of Washington and this sand was ultra-soft. We had a nice stroll along the beach in the early morning. Others were out, but it wasn't too crowded. The skies were overcast, but our moods light as we listened to the waves and viewed Carmel and the Pebble Beach golf course.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,255
    343
    40
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous - must do the Scenic Road drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

A must see in Carmel, the beach is pristine with soft white sand and beautiful coastline view. We saw dolphins around sunset! Parking in the late afternoon/evening was not a problem. Highly reccommend driving down Scenic Road which is a one-way street starting at the beach parking lot. The homes on this road are like little storybook houses, amazing architecture with gorgeous setting. The best of Carmel is right there on the coast!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank USAGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, nice sand good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We lucked out and got a parking spot right near the rest room practically on the beach. We tried to boogie board but the waves were not fabulous. We prefer the rougher surf at Marina beach with my 10 and 13 year old boys. But good for swimming and young kids as long as you keep an eye on them. But the beach was clean and dogs were allowed off leash. Looked at shells. etc.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Djn067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Louisiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Dreamy locale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful beach in an amazing area of our country. If you're in Carmel put this on your list of must visits. We hope to return for a view of the sunset.

Helpful?
Thank TangiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best dog beach in Nor Cal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Everyone brings their dogs here and most pooches are sociable and friendly. Just remember to clean up after your dog!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Pundit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel City Beach/Carmel River Beach also viewed

 

Been to Carmel City Beach/Carmel River Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing