We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beach”

Carmel City Beach/Carmel River Beach
Ranked #2 of 110 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The water is brisk and the surf is hazardous, but the amazing views from the shore will draw you like a magnet to these striking white sand beaches for a leisurely stroll or picnic.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Beach”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Dog friendly, friendly people, beautiful sand, and extremely clean public beach. Parking is a bit scarce, but stay at one of the great B&B's (Vagabond's House Inn is spectacular), and it's an easy walk! You can see the famous Pebble Beach golf course right there from the beach! Temperature is always perfect, and sea breeze is cool and welcome.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hambone629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,405
    370
    45
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great pic spot”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

If you are into photography you will love Carmel beach - stunning panorama and a lot of surfers that will become excellent subjects of your telephoto lens. The sunset is also recommended ;) After that you can just head back in the main street for a nice dinner by this peaceful town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KesselRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ocean Avenue”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I grow up in Carmel! I returned for our honeymoon 43 years ago and have been back several times since. I totally recommend a visit to Carmel. Even though it is way more touristy then it was when i was growing up there.

Walk the beach, walk Ocean Avenue down to the beach, walk along Scenic Drive... There is lots to do, shops to explore, gallerys, places to eat. Take in play at the Forest Theater. Eat ice cream at the Village Inn (actually they may have turned this into a restuarant.) We used to stop here on the way home from school to get ice cream cones...

And take a sweater. We always knew who the tourists were when we would be in jeans and hoodies and the visitors would be in shorts and sleeveless shirts!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tdaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Reminded Me Of Why I Love the Ocean”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

After a very, very long and cold winter, it was a pleasure to visit an ocean with soft white sand, large crashing waves and people and especially dogs having a great time. We planned to just stop by and see the beach but it was so peaceful we ended up staying an hour - just sitting on some driftwood, catching some sun and watching the world pass by. Was too cold to go in the water, but I was happy to just sit and enjoy. What a great spot to have right in the middle of town. Would love to spend a month or so at a small house close to the beach and visit every morning with my coffee. (Maybe when I retire, I'll do just that!).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank brontesassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lover's Point is great for sunrise shoots”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is one of the most spectacular views to shoot in the Carmel area for sunrise. The beautiful boulders and grass at Lover's Point coupled with the vibrant ice plant make for incredible shots..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_Foothillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel City Beach/Carmel River Beach also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Carmel City Beach/Carmel River Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing