We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sand in your toes”

Carmel City Beach/Carmel River Beach
Ranked #2 of 110 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The water is brisk and the surf is hazardous, but the amazing views from the shore will draw you like a magnet to these striking white sand beaches for a leisurely stroll or picnic.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Sand in your toes”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

There are many beautiful beaches in the world but the Carmel beach is something special. Walk the length from the Pebble Beach golf course to the Mission Ranch beach and you will not only work up a good appitite but you'll also breath some of the freshest sea air.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,459
    386
    47
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Life is Good...in Carmel!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My son and I drove the PCH from LA to SF. We stopped off in Carmel to stay overnight. We stayed in town and spent New Year's Day walking the beach. Wow. It is SO nice in Carmel. Gorgeous area and a great vibe. And, like others have mentioned, a town that is doggy heaven!
The Main Street has so many fun shops to stroll past and linger in, and walking past some of the adorable homes made me want to stay in town longer. I would live in Carmel any day. It is nice there! We went out to the famous Carmel Valley Ranch for dinner and sunset. Super nice and relaxing time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KAK807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Doggie Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Carmel City Beach is like no other beach we've ever been to. It's a breeze of a walk down hill (leaving is another story) and well-behaved dogs are welcome to go off leash and enjoy the beach. Through the hazy day we had, it honestly looked as though it were Dog Heaven on Earth (if there is such a place).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“White clean sand and fresh air”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful way to start our weekend in Carmel. Arrived around sunset which is early in winter. Beautiful Friday weather and we decided to run down the dune like beach to waters edge. The smell of the surf was like no other. The sand is super fine pure white and feels so good between my toes. And you can walk to town!

Helpful?
Thank Coltonmgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Sand is powdery; views of the ocean are stunning. Lot's of people/dog watching. Parkin was surprising easy at 11:00 on a Sunday in January when the weather forecast was 85 degrees. Walk up Ocean for shopping & lunch (good for able bodied only).
Very nice & laid back.

Helpful?
Thank IMisLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel City Beach/Carmel River Beach also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Carmel City Beach/Carmel River Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing