We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windswept by the sea”

Carmel City Beach/Carmel River Beach
Ranked #2 of 110 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The water is brisk and the surf is hazardous, but the amazing views from the shore will draw you like a magnet to these striking white sand beaches for a leisurely stroll or picnic.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Windswept by the sea”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

It was very refreshing to get down by the sea and there was plenty of parking nearby. There is also a one way drive along the shore. We enjoyed the fresh air!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank chasingbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,395
    366
    44
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Gem on the California Coast”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I fell in love with California when I visited Carmel at 12 years old. This town is so special with wooden street signs and few traffic lights. Artists love this town because it is peaceful and quaint, homes are beautiful and cypress trees grow throughout this region. Carmel is a place we love to visit almost every year!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank regener8us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great beach”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

beautiful, clean, doggy, awesome views
bring a picnic and some sand toys and stay for the day. I recommend picking up sandwiches at Luca on Dolores, or Nielsen's Market, or Bruno's market.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank soupcasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect for Dogs”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spend every Christmas in Carmel and a big reason for that is its dog-friendliness. This beach is beautiful and filled with smiling, frolicking dogs.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pearl333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Beach!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Possibly my favorite beach. Ever. They allow fires and alcohol (not sure that's a great combo). They are very dog friendly (we bring the pup early in the am - later in the day there are lots of people and the rough n tumble can be a little tricky). No parking or entry fees, great views and amazing waves. Really fantastic.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OCTraveler3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel City Beach/Carmel River Beach also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Carmel City Beach/Carmel River Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing