We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$579
$320
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$400
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$449
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$569
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$309
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,256
$999
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$900
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,282)
Filter reviews
1,282 results
Traveler rating
603
328
173
106
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
603
328
173
106
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscalifornia markettime sharepacific edgewood burning fireplaceocean viewsunset loungebig surtownhouse suitefull kitchencarmel highlandspoint lobosmain buildingtwo storyliving roomroad noisespa tubhot tub
Filter
Updating list...
1,147 - 1,152 of 1,282 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2006

By far this resort is the most romantic place we have ever stayed in. The Pacific Edge Restaurant located next to the hotel's lobby (amazing as well) has the most gorgeous view of the Pacific Ocean with the descending sunset we have ever seen on the face of this earth. By far, if we had to rate this hotel and it's accomodations, it would be a ten out of ten. The complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries were a nice touch to a perfect stay. We loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank johncannon858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lawton, OK
18
Reviewed March 19, 2006

On March 12th we again visited Highlands Inn for our 40th wedding anniversary. We had reserved a standard ocean view room as this is what our budget allowed. We were shown to our room only to find out we had been upgraded to a beautiful ocean townhouse! I must tell you we were thrilled. The room was beautiful and romantic. The view was breathtaking, and once again we enjoyed watching the whales from our balcony. My husband and I were still absorbing this wonderful generosity on the part of Highlands Inn, when much to our surprise room service came to our room and began setting up a beautiful cheese and cracker board, as well as fresh and dried fruit and bottled water. Included with this assortment of goodies was a card signed by the General Manager thanking us for sharing our special occasion at Highlands Inn. We left with another great memory and committed to come back again for a future anniversary celebration.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ontario, Canada
117
Reviewed February 25, 2006

This property was a complete disappointment, with the only redeeming factor being the view. The rooms are dingy and in poor repair. Our television did not work, the room was smoky and dank. Service at their restaurant was non-existent, such that we walked out.
This experience will certainly colour our decision to stay at a Hyatt property again.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, WA
110
Reviewed January 11, 2006

Stayed at the hotel over Christmas, in a two level townhouse perched right above the coastline with an amazing, panoramic view of the Pacific. The room was very nice but not especially attractive, but the large balcony, woodburning fireplace, and view of the ocean from the jacuzzi more than made up for it. Service was exceptional, and the hotel restaurant was excellent. I would highly recommed this hotel to anyone not wanting to pay for the more expensive Carmel/Big Sur area hotels (Post Ranch Inn, the Ventana). It helps to belong to Hyatt Gold Passport, they tend to put members in better rooms (ask for one in the building next to the pool).

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2006

This hotel is schizophrenic. The vacation club rooms are spacious and comfortable. The "Park Hyatt" rooms are like a very bad Motel 6. They are small, with no chairs or desk. Lighting is bad. Maintenance is terrible. Our room had peeling wallpaper, a broken security lock on the door, a warped bathroom door that wouldn't close and broken window shutters. Soundproofing is almost nonexistent. We could hear every footstep in the room above, and these people were walking around all night. Management obviously does not have its act together. We complained about the broken lock, shutters, etc. to the front desk. The clerk wrote down our concerns and assured us things would be fixed. By the next day, nothing had happened. We complained to another person on the front desk who once again asked for details and wrote them down. Nothing happened. Finally, we got a call from housekeeping. They said "we heard you had some problems but no one has told us what they are." We went through them for the third time. Had a conversation with a manager about the horrible condition of the Park Hyatt rooms. His response: We get similar compaints all the time. They should remove the Park Hyatt designation from this hotel. After staying there, I will never trust the Park Hyatt brand again. If you can stay in the Vacation Club suites, it's very nice but avoid the Park Hyatt hotel rooms at all costs.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank brownsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews