We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean view rooms are amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ocean view rooms are amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Great room and great location! Specially the ocean view was very relaxing and beautiful! Although i really liked the location and..... I don't think cleaning crew did such a great job. There was mold on my shower head and pillows were too flat and uncomfortable. I had to ask for more pillows. The location was great and check in was fast and we were given sparkling wine as we walked in. They also have complementary bikes but unfortunately only for adults. There are no bike routes close by unless you have a set up or a big car to be able to take the bikes to the bike baths you want to.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed the room as well as the great location and the stunning views. We will look into your feedback regarding the cleaning of your room and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    280
    155
    95
    63
See reviews for
208
603
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The location was very nice. The check in was fast and smooth. The room however was outdated. Little things like the iron and the shower knob were very worn. For this much money per night, we expected a little more attention to detail. The fireplace was romantic, but the room only has enough wood to burn for a few hours. As there is no a/c or heat, that is the only heat source. We slept with the patio door cracked to get some air flow, but around 5am awoke to lots of traffic noise down the road. Maybe other rooms farther away won't have that problem.

Room Tip: rooms away from main road are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tallica21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed the location and beautiful views and we are sorry that your stay was disappointing. We will look into your comments and sincerely thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
301 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and stayed here the first two nights of a week long trip to California celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. I am a Hyatt diamond member, so I do favor Hyatt properties. After making reservations online, I called and explained we were celebrating our anniversary, any type of upgrade would be appreciated. We were upgraded to a suite, escorted to our room and were very happy with our suite. We were greeted by EVERY employee, absolutely no complaints about the staff, first class. We had a complimentary bottle of champaigne and a card wishing us well, wow, these guys are good. We ate breakfast both mornings and the food was excellent. We had a great week of fun on our trip, but it was tough to leave this place. We will definitely be going back, but not soon enough. Thank you Hyatt Carmel Highlands for everything!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnow39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are so happy you decided to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary with us. We are glad that we could help make your stay with us memorable and we sincerely hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Things started going well long before our arrival.
We had earned 2 nights complimentary stay with Hyatt.
When I called to make reservations for 3 nights, the attention to detail of our stay was excellent.
We did have to pay for 1 night and the reservation rep made sure that the night we paid for was the least expensive of the 3. I never would have thought of that on my own.
How considerate of them!

When we arrived, we were provided with excellent valet parking, a welcome drink (a good sparkling wine) and very helpful bell service.

The room was delightful (wood-burning fire place and all the amenities).
We had a huge private deck. And the grounds and view are fantastically beautiful.

Service was the best I’ve experienced in years.
Anything we asked for arrived in a couple minutes.
And they volunteered things we didn’t even think to ask for.

The room had a fridge, coffee maker and a safe.
We asked for cutlery so we could have a midnight snack (leftovers from dinner) and they asked if we’d like a microwave brought to the room. Nice!

Free (in-room) WiFi, room made up and restocked every day, bed turned down every evening.
It was a great stay in a great place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Excalibur_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are so happy that you had such a wonderful time with us! Thank you for the fantastic review and hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

So many good things here I don't know where to begin so I'll start with the personal help I received then move on to the hotel itself.

We were supposed to stay here from 6/9 thru 6/12 to celebrate my wife's birthday and our anniversary but my wife got sick and was in the hospital 6/10 until 6/13. Robert, the Assistant Front Office Manager, allowed me to stay a couple extra nights at a very reasonable rate so that I could deal with my wife's illness and not have to worry about moving hotels or where I was going to stay. He even offered to let us stay a 3rd extra night so my wife could have some time at the property before going home but unfortunately American Airlines was extremely unaccommodating so we had to check out on 6/14. I will not forget how Robert let me add on nights one night at a time. We come out to Carmel every 2-3 years and this hotel has earned our lifetime business. We will be going back sooner since we didn’t get to do much on this trip and will be staying here.

The views from this hotel are breathtaking. You cannot ask for better views. I have included some attached to this review. This property overlooks the Pacific Ocean and Point Lobos State Reserve. You can just sit on your patio and look at the views for hours. The hotel has free valet parking but don’t forget to tip the valet people! They were wonderful. You just call for your car before leaving your room and they have it waiting for you when you get there.
We were upgraded to the Point Lobos Suite which is an awesome suite. We had awesome views from our patio. We spent a lot of time just sitting on the patio and taking in the beauty. There’s a small entry hall with a coffee machine & refrigerator. The Point Lobos Suite has 3 main rooms.

The bedroom is huge and has a king bed, ½ bath, large closet with a safe, a fireplace, flat screen TV, and a large sliding glass door facing the Pacific Ocean and Point Lobos State Reserve. Right outside the sliding door is the patio with a small table & chairs. You can watch the sunset from the bed or patio.

The bedroom leads to a huge bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub, another fireplace, a shower, a double sink counter, and toilet area with a door. The Jacuzzi tub is in front of the fireplace and has a window where you can take a bath & see the gorgeous views out the window. There are plenty of lights in the bathroom. You can also enter the bathroom from the entry hallway of the suite.

The 3rd room is down the entry hall from the bedroom and is a large living area with a 3rd fireplace, sofa bed, dining room table, and a flat screen TV. This room has plenty of windows to view the beauty in 3 different directions. This room also has a door leading out to the patio.
Being a Hyatt Passport Diamond Member our stay included breakfast. We ate in the California Market Restaurant the first morning there and it was excellent. The portions are huge. Unfortunately we were only able to eat there the first day since my wife was in the hospital for the next 3 mornings in which I ordered room service breakfast. The room service breakfast was basically the same menu as the restaurant. They make it easy to order. They leave an order form on your bed which you just fill out and leave on your door handle before you go to bed. You select the items you want and the time you want the food delivered and it comes right on time which was nice so I could eat and head up to the hospital.

My wife and I had about 20 hours together in Carmel after she was released from the hospital. We had lunch on the deck at the California Market Restaurant so we could sit outside and take in the magnificent views. Good food and a great view.

We absolutely loved this hotel and can’t wait to go back so we can enjoy all the things we wanted to see on this trip but couldn’t under the circumstances. If you enjoy being out in nature then there’s no better place than the Hyatt Carmel Highlands.

Please take a few minutes to view my photos. They say a picture paints a thousand words and it’s true of this place. You can’t accurately describe this place in words. It has to be seen.

Room Tip: Closer to the coast the better/
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We're so happy that you enjoyed everything from the beautiful views to our fantastic staff! We sincerely appreciate your review and hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We are visiting right now and feel compelled to write a review based on some negative reviews. The resort location is beautiful and our 1 bedroom partial ocean view is spectacular. The staff at check-in was superb, including the help to our room! We couldn't be happier. We are on Interval exchange and have stayed at numerous Hyatt VCs, Marriott VCs, etc. and this is by far, the best resort we have stayed at in about 10 years. The restaurant is expensive, but so is everywhere in Carmel. The difference is the staff, they are genuinely very attentive and friendly. I was hesitant to stay here based on reviews, but can say that if you come in with reasonable expectations, you will be pleasantly surprised. Be friendly, and the staff will reward you in kind! I hope we can stay here again. I have traveled all over the world and have never entered a review before leaving, I am so happy to be here. You must give this place a try.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! You're so happy that you enjoyed such a nice stay. We thank you for the great review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
280 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

every visit here starts and ends with location. Breathtaking beauty of the Pacific coast-rugged rocks, surf, sea, and wildlife. Our room's view was amazing. We could have lived out on our balcony with the sights, sounds, and sea smell. The fireplace in our room burned logs of real wood which added wood burning warmth and flavors to our experience. Toss in a terrific hot-tub and heated pool, lovely grounds decked out in many colors of flowers and greenery, and two restaurants with their own incredible ambience, and you've got a fairy tale story wrapped up in a very beautiful and romantic setting. Oh yes, service was impeccable. I suspect they have a very high staff to guest ratio. All in all a wonderful getaway.

Room Tip: Request ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aresverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed the wonderful coastal views! We sincerely thank you for your review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
3.7 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
10.2 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Property: Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Address: 120 Highland Dr, Carmel, CA 93923-9607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself. Hyatt Carmel Highlands is a picturesque retreat overlooking the Big Sur coast with epic views of the Pacific Ocean, and a stunning natural environment made even more special by our impeccable staff. Our Carmel by-the-Sea hotel is an oceanfront retreat that seamlessly blends the amenities of a large hotel with the refined charm of a boutique hideaway. Dine at the award-winning California Market at Pacific's Edge restaurant. After a morning of yoga, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or unwind with a relaxing spa experience. If it's outdoor activity you crave, we offer mountain bike rentals and maps for hikes, jogs and bike rides around the stunning Carmel area. Let the Les Clefs d'Or Concierge arrange a day trip to explore Big Sur or a round at legendary Pebble Beach. Host an intimate sunset wedding ceremony or intimate reception on our redwood deck. Feel inspired by the breathtaking vistas that surround our Carmel hotel. Your experience is limited only by your imagination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing