We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, ok location, nice accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We spent a weekend recently (3/1-3/2014) at this resort. We'd received an offer to stay at a discounted rate (with a commitment to sit through their 90 minute timeshare presentation).

We were pleasantly greeted upon arrival. The main building is a lodge-type look with huge fireplaces. Check in was painless. Their public restrooms are dated and dank. - not a great first impression.

We ate breakfast at their California Market restaurant. Because it was a rainy weekend, we couldn't sit outside and take advantage of the view. The food was ok - not the best, not the worst - my sister was served a glass of old tomato juice (which should have been noticed by either the waiter or whomever poured it, because it was so old it was carbonated). We did not eat in another restaurant while staying there.

Our room was a studio condo (which a screen partition to block out the living room area). We were told that our room was halfway thru the update that the property is undergoing. During our timeshare tour, we were shown an updated room and there wasn't much difference other than TV placement and different chairs.

My sister slept on the pull out couch while my husband and I had the king size bed. If it matters, there is one TV which can't be viewed while in the bed IF the partition is closed.

The fireplace and plentiful wood right outside the door is a great touch, especially in Carmel, which is typically chilly. The inroom coffee machine and local coffees was nice, except it would have been better to have creamer instead of those horrid powdered creamer packets. These rooms typically cost $400-500/night -- I can't imagine paying that kind of money and not having actual liquid creamer for my coffee in the morning. This is easily corrected, but a big miss in my opinion. Touches like this is what set brands like the Four Seasons, St Regis, Ritz, etc apart in the luxury market.

The property is located on a hill. If you have mobility issues, this is not for you. Narrow winding paths lead you to your room. There are plenty of steps and stairs, uneven walkways. It's lovely, but those requiring assistance would find this quite challenging.

If you were hoping to park your car for your stay in Carmel and have a nice walk into town, this is not your hotel. The walk would be along a very busy highway (and about 5 miles away).

Due to the weather during our stay, we didn't explore the property nor outdoor amenities such as the pool.

Summary: for the discounted price paid, this was a very good option for us. We would not consider returning at the posted rates.

Room Tip: Ask for a front row room to take advantage of the spectacular central CA coast
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAGinagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your feedback and will look into your comments. We sincerely hope you will join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Carmel Highlands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

I saw so many pictures from web site. Also did reviews, attractions, places to dine as well as temperatures at resort. The drive passing Carmel Valley is awesome but the driveway up to Hyatt Highland is amazing and such a welcoming crew at front. I can say I loved it so much that. I am now family too. :) Thx Highland

Room Tip: All 2nd and 3rd floor rooms will have ocean view, just different angle :)
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayolie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for the recommendations for the oceanview rooms as well! We sincerely hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Hyatt Carmel Highlands has one major asset; the location offers fantastic views of the rugged California coastline. We had a large one-bedroom unit that was a great place to snuggle down for romantic evenings. We especially enjoyed the in-room wood fireplace, the in-room kitchen and the beds were quite comfortable. The property also has a decent exercise room. The down side is that this is an older property that doesn't look great from the outside even with nicely maintained grounds. Expensive golf clubs are a mainstay of the area. Downtown Carmel is an understated beauty. While there is great natural beauty in the area, I'd recommend the hotel only for a 1-2 night stay. Be forewarned, there are many stairs since the Hyatt is built on a hillside.

Room Tip: Request a room with a good view of the coastline. October usually means great weather.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelseeker777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed the stunning views along with the wood-burning fireplaces. It definitely makes for a romantic stay! We sincerely hope you visit us again and thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I've been looking for a regular place to stay when visiting Carmel on business. I tried this location because of the Hyatt affiliation.

First, the location is superb. The hotel is located high up on cliffs overlooking the Point Lobos state reserve. Views and sound of crashing waves abound. Leave the doors open to hear the ocean at night is good, but there is a bit of traffic noise due to the proximity to the road.

The common rooms are very nice with comfy seating and wood burning fireplaces. There are a couple of restaurants (one fine dining, one casual) and indoor/outdoor lounges for watching the sunset. The sunset lounge had a pretty good menu and $15 cocktails. I did note that food service ends at 9:30 (8:30 in the restaurant), which could be disappointing for late arrivals.

The property is spread out -- a series of low-lying buildings spread over cliffs. In some cases, guests hike a bit to get to their rooms (but that's what enables the great views). There are three hot-tub locations, and at least one pool (heater).

Like a lot of places in Carmel/Monterey, my room was a bit shabby and lacked modern conveniences. I had a King ocean view with fireplace. Important for the business traveler -- definitely not enough electrical outlets and dim lighting. There was a 42" flat panel TV, a small desk area, an oddly configured bathroom setup (toilet and tub/shower in one room, cramped sink/mirror in the hallway). There was wifi; strong signal from my room.

The staff was friendly and efficient. I encountered the valet, front-desk, and lounge servers.

My room rate was $375. I felt like I paid a lot for a regular sized but shabby hotel room with awesome views.

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the ocean have great views of the water and crashing waves, but the traffic noi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reston10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We're so happy that you enjoyed the wonderful location and sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room. We appreciate your review as it helps us to see what you enjoyed and where we can improve. We sincerely hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

It was a romantic place to spend the night. The ocean view, the lush greenery, the warm and cozy fireplace...
We also enjoyed the hot tub but there was no view of the ocean from it. The pool was somewhat full of pine needles and plant stuff. It gets kind of dark around the grounds at night. The staff was very attentive. There seemed to be a lack of plugs in the room. The glass of champagne at check in was very nice and welcomed after a long drive. We slept well and the ocean sound is lovely!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alecsandrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for the five-star review! You're so happy that you enjoyed a romantic stay with us… a Glass of champagne is always a nice welcome after a long drive! Sincerely hope you visit us again and thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We came south from Sausalito on a rainy off season night to check this place out and were so happy that we did. Every staff member we interacted with was friendly, helpful and efficient. We had booked a 'regular' room but requested an upgrade option at check in...since it was somewhat off season we were lucky to be offered a fantastic suite and were happy to pay the price to upgrade to it. Incredible views. Cozy with outdoor sitting areas, Jacuzzi ocean view tub and fireplaces too. Everything was spotless. We had cocktails in the sunset lounge - great with killer views ...returned later for dinner with fun live music and a solid kids menu to compliment our dishes. The crazy thing that stood out to me the most? We have our kids with us when we travel and typically in a suite like this need to utilize the couch bed for them....a maid showed up in the evening for turn down service and made the couch bed up for us. This NEVER happens - regardless of how much we pay, anywhere we go worldwide, we always seem to be pulling out the couch bed ourselves and putting it together for the kids at night. Huge kudos to Hyatt and the maid service staff on that. Loved everything and am looking forward to coming back - thank you Hyatt Carmel Highlands team for an awesome winter getaway!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MLO1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! From the Jacuzzi tub with Oceanviews to the wood burning fireplaces we try to take care of all the details so you can just relax and enjoy your stay! Thank you for the wonderful review and we sincerely hope you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Love this hotel! Even if my husband and I stay only one night, it feels so much longer; it's as if time stops. The views are spectacular, whether we're relaxing in our ocean front room, or enjoying a drink and some evening music at the Sunset Lounge. Staff is super friendly and attentive. We make it a point to stay here several times a year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCalMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed a relaxing getaway with us! Thank you for posting the pictures of the wonderful views. We sincerely hope you visit us again soon and are so happy to hear that you visit us several times a year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
892 reviews
3.7 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
355 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
10.2 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
355 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highland Dr, Carmel, CA 93923-9607
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $501 - $970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself. Hyatt Carmel Highlands is a picturesque retreat overlooking the Big Sur coast with epic views of the Pacific Ocean, and a stunning natural environment made even more special by our impeccable staff. Our Carmel by-the-Sea hotel is an oceanfront retreat that seamlessly blends the amenities of a large hotel with the refined charm of a boutique hideaway. Dine at the award-winning California Market at Pacific's Edge restaurant. After a morning of yoga, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or unwind with a relaxing spa experience. If it's outdoor activity you crave, we offer mountain bike rentals and maps for hikes, jogs and bike rides around the stunning Carmel area. Let the Les Clefs d'Or Concierge arrange a day trip to explore Big Sur or a round at legendary Pebble Beach. Host an intimate sunset wedding ceremony or intimate reception on our redwood deck. Feel inspired by the breathtaking vistas that surround our Carmel hotel. Your experience is limited only by your imagination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing