We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fell short of expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Problem: Very small room. Closet not even practical. Bathroom door is half a cm away from toilet. Very dangerous door stopper(see pictures) that almost cut my feet. The stopper was there to prevent the door from hitting the desk, you can imagine how small and packed the room is. No complimentary bottled water in room, no room upgrade, no late check out for platinum member in this property. The lobby overlooking big sur coast used to be a quiet and relaxing place. Now it is full of sales and "potential" time sharing customers all the time.

The good: location is good and house keeping was responsive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank calben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We are sorry you were disappointed with your recent visit with us and we would love to discuss your experience with you. We hope you will call and speak with our management as we sincerely want you to leave our property happy. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

The stay here was incredible but we sought out a review based on the restaurant alone. We were blown away that a four star rated restaurant had food about as good (if not worse)as some of our regular restaurant jaunts that are a quarter of the price. Many of our local Santa Cruz restaurants are ten times better for a fraction if the cost( and that's not saying much). We had the duck and chicken which were both over cooked,flavorless and dry. The polenta had absolutey no flavor. Nothing to complain about from an ordinary restaurant where an entree (an entire entree)costs about twenty bucks.....but when you are paying fifty dollars for a tiny piece meat( sides are extra)....I expect perfection. This restaurant is beyond overpriced. On a positive note the tuna tartar was absolutely incredible!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ktbizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us and we are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to our restaurant. We sincerely hope you visit us again and thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Hyatt Highlands in Carmel is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. The service is very attentive. At check-in was told that room would not be ready until 5pm - and was offered free drinks at the bar. The lobby bar itself was great - with a beautiful view of the pacific ocean.
Although the buildings are old, the decoration inside the room was up to date with a fireplace and plenty of firewoods. Was upgraded to a suite including a giant bathtub. Of course the highlight is still the million-dollar view.
Breakfast was excellent. Gym was excellent. 5 stars!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DT94024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed the beautiful view of the ocean over drinks at the bar. We sincerely hope you visit us again and thank you for taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Loved the view and room. Fireplace is set with logs and you just have to light it to enjoy. Get a room with a balcony and view of the ocean. The restaurant was fabulous. Elegant and again, the views are breathtaking at sunset.

Room Tip: Balcony view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for the excellent review! We are so happy that you enjoyed the wonderful sunset as well as the wood-burning fireplace. We sincerely hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a one bedroom for a week. We had a wonderful stay!! The hotel/timeshare is made up of a number of different buildings on a hillside overlooking the Pacific. We had a wonderful view from our room!! The hotel even supplied us with binoculars to watch for whales.

This is a very unique property. The bedroom is open to the living room and bathroom. (The toilet is in its own room.) If you require privacy, there are beautiful door panels hung on tracks that you can position so that no one can see into the bedroom and or bathroom. My son and his girlfriend stayed with us for a few nights. They slept on a sofa sleeper in the living room. They said the comfort was way above average for a sleeper sofa.

Each room also has a wood burning fireplace. The housekeepers supplied us with wood each day. There are places very close to each unit where you can go to get more wood.

The bar and restaurants were located in a separate building that had huge picture windows overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Besides the great view, the food was excellent!!

The location was great! It is very close to Point Lobos State Reserve and a 10-20 minute drive to Carmel by the Sea and Monterey.

Room Tip: Best to be on the top floor overlooking the ocean. Our view was considered a horizon view, but we st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed a wonderful week long stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great views and outstanding service.Very friendly staff.The restaurant was yummy for lunch.It is close to Big Sur,Carmel and Montery.We were in a remodeled room,and it was bright and fresh.Really enjoyed our stay.There are a lot of steps,so it is not for everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chesterbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! We're so happy that you enjoyed the beautiful views and dining with us at California Market for lunch. We sincerely hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

A bit biased as we are Hyatt Resident Club members, but this is one of the great historic locations along the Carmel coast. High on the hills south of Carmel, overlooking Pt.Lobos. Staff is great and the rooms are cozy with full kitchens, fireplaces, tubes and views. Nothing dated about it as long as you understand this is upscale rustic, not a big city Hyatt. However, they are finishing a remodel of all rooms by end of March 2014. Sunset Lounge is a nice alternative to Pacific Edge Dining room if you want more casual as it has extensive bar menu. Friday and saturday music and dancing the weekend we were there with a mix of older, middle aged crowd. Fantastic spot.

Room Tip: Townhouses have upper loft with views and plenty of room for four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

We're so happy that you enjoyed a fantastic getaway with us. The Sunset Lounge is always a nice place to relax… We are happy that you enjoyed it! We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
907 reviews
3.7 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 25 in Carmel
364 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
608 reviews
2.8 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Address: 120 Highland Dr, Carmel, CA 93923-9607
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $395 - $905 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself. Hyatt Carmel Highlands is a picturesque retreat overlooking the Big Sur coast with epic views of the Pacific Ocean, and a stunning natural environment made even more special by our impeccable staff. Our Carmel by-the-Sea hotel is an oceanfront retreat that seamlessly blends the amenities of a large hotel with the refined charm of a boutique hideaway. Dine at the award-winning California Market at Pacific's Edge restaurant. After a morning of yoga, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or unwind with a relaxing spa experience. If it's outdoor activity you crave, we offer mountain bike rentals and maps for hikes, jogs and bike rides around the stunning Carmel area. Let the Les Clefs d'Or Concierge arrange a day trip to explore Big Sur or a round at legendary Pebble Beach. Host an intimate sunset wedding ceremony or intimate reception on our redwood deck. Feel inspired by the breathtaking vistas that surround our Carmel hotel. Your experience is limited only by your imagination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing