We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, so-so room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great views, so-so room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The view (full ocean) saved the experience. We were disappointed with the room - small, poorly-appointed (mostly shelving) and in much need of updating. No place to sit, just one desk chair (2 chairs on balcony, but it was cold outside). Use of fireplace filled the room with smoke and set off the fire alarm (both nights, so really it wasn't a fireplace room). No qualms with staff - all friendly and helpful. We did get a small price break when we checked out and I voiced our concerns, but we would not go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsaGiGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We are happy you decided to stay with us and so sorry about your experience. We will look into your feedback regarding the room and we are very happy that you enjoyed the views. We sincerely hope you'll consider visiting us again. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    273
    151
    95
    63
See reviews for
204
592
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I just loved out stay at the hotel the staff are friendly the food is good and the views are out of this world. Go for a swim and then in the hot tub to relax. This could be a man thing but a fire in the bed room is great and lovely at night. I know me and the wife will be coming back next time in Carmel

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guygsimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for the five five-star review! We are so happy you enjoyed the amenities… Swimming and the hot tubbing are always a nice way to spend the day. The fireplaces in the rooms are also a a plus. We sincerely hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in a horizontal ocean view one bedroom residence suite. The accommodation was hugh, modern, well equipped and comfortable. The view and fireplace made the experience romantic. The staff members were extremely polite and service oriented. The food prepared by the chefs on premise was the best during our entire stay - especially the baker. There were majestic views from our bedroom, spa tub, living room, kitchen, patio balcony, Sunset lounge, and Pacific Edge restaurant. To top it all off, Lobos Point walking trails had the most spectacular views of them all and it was just a few minutes up Hwy 1. I find it difficult to believe someone would give this property a negative review unless you are handicap. I did notice handicap access to the various buildings was available but slightly inconvenient which appear to be due to the rocky hill side location.

Room Tip: The top floors or townhouse suites appear to have the best views and no noisy upper floor neighbors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vhb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review! We're so happy that you had such a wonderful experience with us and that you enjoyed the views and local attractions… Point Lobos is beautiful this time of year and and we are glad happy that you were able to visit it. We sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I decided to take a couple of days off and didn't want to go very far. We spent Saturday and Sunday at the Highlands Inn and enjoyed it very much. I used to play music at the Inn about 20 years ago and we were both a little put off by some of the negative reviews we read. I am happy to say, that we experienced only one of the issues that some people had complained about. The people in the unit above us had a young child who ran about for a while making noise. I can't blame the inn for the parents lack of courtesy, but the floors are thin and carry sound. Other than that we received excellent service from the staff and had a good weekend. Our room had been renovated and was very clean. Carmel is famous for tiny little artist cottages and the scale of the rooms is on the small side, but staying indoors in Big Sur is a miss-use of some of the most beautiful scenery in the world. Get outdoors and live a little....If six hundred dollars is a lot of money, go somewhere else....it's Carmel...and Carmel is expensive for some budgets.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor and above have the best views...below that, trees ...imagine that, trees bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are so happy that you decided to visit us and that you experienced a relaxing getaway! We apologize for the noise in the room above you. We do what we can to ensure a peaceful relaxing stay in our beautiful location. We hope you visit us again soon and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The drive up to this hotel is spectacular, with stunning sea views. The reception and public areas are very nice and modern, and expectations were high.... until we were shown to our rooms. We had booked three ocean view king rooms, and all three were small, shabby and tired - very disappointing given the price we paid to stay here. The pool area and walkways are similarly tired and in need of refurbishment. We had asked for a rollaway bed for our young son, which wasn't in the room on arrival, and we realized that there wouldn't have been room for one anyway so just put him in bed with us, making for a poor night's sleep. On the positive side, the service was very good (apart from the annoying and persistent call from a chap trying to persuade us to sit through a timeshare talk). The bar is very pleasant with a good range of cocktails, and we had an outstanding meal in the restaurant, which also had a fantastic wine list. The babysitter we booked in the evening was probably the best we've had anywhere. All in all, I would probably return if I could get a good deal on the room, but the rooms at the Intercontinental in Monterey (the other place we stayed) are infinitely superior even if the hotel lacks the charm of the Carmel Highlands.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillsyDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed the wonderful location and dining with us at Pacific's Edge restaurant. We sincerely hope you visit us again and thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Had a nice stopover here on our drive to LA, we were of course redeeming our free stay as a Hyatt Gold member. We got the room by the pool. Really friendly staff. Free valet parking available. The standard room is on the smaller side, but the interior is beautifully done and also includes a fireplace that uses real wood. The bathroom however was totally out of sync with the rest of the room and lacked the luxury of the room outside. They had a binocular in the room for whale watching. Yes, there are whales in the area, only that we started seeing whales only once we started our drive along the Sur coast. We ordered breakfast to our room and it was filling and delicious. They do have dining options by the poolside or in the main building. The garden is well kept and is really beautiful.

Rooms by the poolside seem to have obstructed views because of the trees across the road. But other than that, everything else seemed perfect. This is probably the best place to stay in Carmel to enjoy the views from high up. The view from the main building is simply gorgeous.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnsarMNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed the wonderful views. Room service is always a nice treat for breakfast and we are glad that it was delicious. We hope you will visit us again and happy new year to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Even though they charge a fortune and the website has pretty pictures of sunsets, this place is by no means a high-end hotel. Two days before I was supposed to check in, I received a voicemail from someone at the hotel saying they needed to tell me about "things going on during my stay". The voicemail was purposefully vague. I was alarmed thinking the hotel was undergoing construction so I quickly returned the call. The man on the phone engaged me in small talk for a few minutes until I asked him why he had called me. Turns out he was trying to get me to attend a time share tour in exchange for $200. I told him no three or four times. He was polite but he kept trying to overcome my objections (a sales tool). I was finally able to get off the phone but I was worried. Nice hotels don't do this. I was expecting the hotel to be more sophisticated than this given the nightly rate. Definite red flag. When I arrived at the hotel, I knew I had made a mistake. This place is old. Really old. The lobby felt more like a lobby of a condominium complex rather than a posh hotel. The lobby staff acted that way too. There are some signs of a makeover but in general, the place is worn out. It doesn't really feel like a hotel actually. More like a time share. My room was minuscule. It was old and rickety and unappetizing. It did have a wood burning fireplace and a nice view but other than that, it's really just a dumpy motel. At this price, there are so many better options in the Carmel area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
3.7 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
8.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Property: Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Address: 120 Highland Dr, Carmel, CA 93923-9607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself. Hyatt Carmel Highlands is a picturesque retreat overlooking the Big Sur coast with epic views of the Pacific Ocean, and a stunning natural environment made even more special by our impeccable staff. Our Carmel by-the-Sea hotel is an oceanfront retreat that seamlessly blends the amenities of a large hotel with the refined charm of a boutique hideaway. Dine at the award-winning California Market at Pacific's Edge restaurant. After a morning of yoga, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or unwind with a relaxing spa experience. If it's outdoor activity you crave, we offer mountain bike rentals and maps for hikes, jogs and bike rides around the stunning Carmel area. Let the Les Clefs d'Or Concierge arrange a day trip to explore Big Sur or a round at legendary Pebble Beach. Host an intimate sunset wedding ceremony or intimate reception on our redwood deck. Feel inspired by the breathtaking vistas that surround our Carmel hotel. Your experience is limited only by your imagination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing