We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“People who like this must be blind or liked to be ripped off?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
131 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“People who like this must be blind or liked to be ripped off?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I apologize to all I hurt with this review but this is such a rip off. Of course the location is special, the restaurant has a great view, good food and the lobby and bar are nice too. The pool is ok but no view. So there the positive side for me stops. Towels constantly not available....at best.

The hotel was built (If I recall correctly) mid 30e and the timber on the outside is nice of course, wooden floors....so are the fireplaces but its all old, very tired and old but some will call it characteristic.

But not if you not want to hear each and every activity of your neighbors over- or besides you. yes incl using bathroom, walking, talking and well fill in the rest.
The smell of the wood burning fireplaces made it impossible to open a window. The rooms were redone and appeared to be just ok but look again. The bathroom small and just OLD.

To pay over 500 usd a night (or more, i erased any thought about it) for a room like this is a disgrace and I like to warn you to spend such money anywhere but not here.
I understand they enjoy a special location and near Carmel but please, I will never ever return to this hotel in my entire travels.

Hyatt shame on you!

Room Tip: are there any?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are sorry about your recent visit with us and we would love to discuss your experience with you. We hope you will call and speak with our management as we sincerely want you to leave our property happy, and we are sorry that your stay was disappointing. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    273
    151
    95
    63
See reviews for
204
592
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was really wary about this hotel after reading some of the reviews. We had a wonderful time and a nice room. It was modern and clean. Our view was beyond compare. My husband couldn't stop complimenting me on my choice of hotels.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are glad you both enjoyed a wonderful stay! We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We swapped our Incline Village timeshare week for 4 nights at Hyatt Carmel Highlands Inn. It took us several years of trying. Remarkable location sitting along the hillside overlooking the ocean. Close enough to Sea Lion island (highly recommend visiting Point Lobos State Park where the trails take you out to the cliffs overlooking several "sea lion" beaches - you can park along Highway 1 to avoid the day charge or walk - we jogged - the mile from the hotel) that you can hear the sea lions barking. Every place has a balcony and ocean view, wood burning fireplace. We also enjoyed hanging out at the fire pit ( with a nice bottle of wine we acquire while wine tasting in the Carmel Valley), the pool and hot tub in the evening). The views from the restaurants and lounge were stunning. I took my yoga mat out to the gazebo and did yoga with a 360 views! Market cafe is fabulous and service was great. They also have bikes for your use. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogarunma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed the wonderful location and breathtaking views- a truly unique stay! We thank you for the great review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cohasset, ma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Our view was amazing. We spent countless hours sitting on the balcony watching the whales and listening to the waves. I don't think our experience would have been half as good if we didn't have our view. The hotel is beautiful and the lobby has great searing to look out to the water. A very nice surprise to the end of our week long California vacation!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed the wonderful ocean views and whale watching from your balcony! We thank you for the great review and we hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We visited for dinner! (2 couples) the food was magnificent, cooked to perfection! Ambience great, great choice on the menu both food and wine.... A little expensive but you get what you pay for! Would visit again if I am in this part of the world. Great dining experience....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are so happy you enjoyed the dining at our restaurants and we hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a slight hiccup booking our stay with American Express last year. The front desk manager was so nice. She made amends, though not their fault, and took care of the problem and even upgraded us. That room was gorgeous. All went really well..

So, we looked forward to celebrating another belated anniversary again this summer. I wrote ahead to confirm everything, request for a quiet room and firm pillows. The previous manager had moved on to another property so I heard from another manager at the front office, Emmanuel Capili. He couldn't have been nicer as well. He made note that we were meeting up in Carmel ( my husband was flying in from Scotland and me from Singapore). When we arrived, he surprised us with the upgrade to end all upgrades!! My goodness. I think our jaws were on the floor the entire stay! He upgraded us to THE Point Lobos suite. I had no idea of its existence till then.

The suite was attached to the main building but felt remote enough. It was quiet and you couldn't hear the traffic from the main road. The suite was huge. Kind of like your own little casita away from everything. It had a living and dining room with a fire place and windows that looked out to the Pacific ocean. The bedroom, with a fireplace, was decent sized with a powder room off to the side. The sliding doors opened out to a patio with the full view of the ocean. Lastly,the bathroom, to me, was the piece de resistance. It was huge and had a big square tub with windows that looked out to the ocean. What was special was the fireplace. We loved loved loved it. Sooooo heavenly to say the least.

So can you understand how hard it was for us to leave the suite in the 3 days we were there? It was so cozy and spectacular at the same time.

We chose to enjoy breakfast in the room both mornings. (Under the Amex plan, breakfast was included.) The room, the view, the fireplace, the sound of the ocean, the wonderful food..... I'd say there is no better way to wake up in the morning. This was perfection and a bucket list check. It just doesn't get any better than this.

No need to talk about bathroom amenities ( they're different from last year but great.!), the gym, the staff, the great dinner at Pacific's Edge...... Everything is same as it was last year. Just perfect. The entire stay was superlative.

In all our 15+ years of staying here, we have sailed in and out without fanfare. Until last year, that was the first time we had an upgrade. Noone has acknowledged our loyalty or taken care of us. Maybe it's Hyatt that recently took over ( after a few horrible stays under previous management, we thought we'd never return.) or maybe it was serendipitous that we chanced upon two extremely nice managers, no, just extrememly nice people. They didn't have to but they went out of their way to take care of us and make us feel special. Now, we will be loyal Hyatt customers for life!

Thank you, Emmanuel Capili. And thank you to the Hyatt Carmel Highlands. Your kind hospitality will keep us coming back. We've already booked our stay for Thanksgiving and are bringing my parents.

( PS: Since returning, we read somewhere that the Point Lobos suite was a favorite with Marilyn Monroe. Wow! Frank Sinatra also loved staying here as well. Didn't say which room.)

Room Tip: We usually request for rooms higher up so we don't hear the traffic. However, the suite we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaverhousen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are so happy that you have been staying with us over the years and that your most recent visit surpassed previous visits! We appreciate your wonderful review and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosch en Duin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Without doubt this place offers great views but that is something you can get at more places in and around Carmel.
Looking in greater detail one can see that certain parts of this complex are a bit outdated e.g. worn out. Focussing on our lunch we have to say that we couldn't enjoy the views given the rain coming in. Seated inside we had our lunch but thought it was nothing special. Food at a quality level you can get at many places but given the prices they charge you it is below standard. In other words the price perfomance ratio is far too low.
The drinks were okay but have to say the pineapple juice had a peculiar taste. A flavor that let me believe it was close to a fermenting point.
All in all way too expensive for what they offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed the wonderful views and we appreciate your feedback regarding your dining experience. We will look into your comments and thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
3.7 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
8.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Property: Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Address: 120 Highland Dr, Carmel, CA 93923-9607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself. Hyatt Carmel Highlands is a picturesque retreat overlooking the Big Sur coast with epic views of the Pacific Ocean, and a stunning natural environment made even more special by our impeccable staff. Our Carmel by-the-Sea hotel is an oceanfront retreat that seamlessly blends the amenities of a large hotel with the refined charm of a boutique hideaway. Dine at the award-winning California Market at Pacific's Edge restaurant. After a morning of yoga, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or unwind with a relaxing spa experience. If it's outdoor activity you crave, we offer mountain bike rentals and maps for hikes, jogs and bike rides around the stunning Carmel area. Let the Les Clefs d'Or Concierge arrange a day trip to explore Big Sur or a round at legendary Pebble Beach. Host an intimate sunset wedding ceremony or intimate reception on our redwood deck. Feel inspired by the breathtaking vistas that surround our Carmel hotel. Your experience is limited only by your imagination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing