We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay 8-26-2013” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two night stay 8-26-2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked a two night stay August 2013. This is a nice property, the staff was very attentive and accommodating.

Our room was a Ocean View King, the view was great but our room was the lowest in the pod and therefore the closest to Highway One. With the sliding door open for ventilation, warm August day, there was a lot of road noise. The bellman explained that there weren't room air condtioners when we checked in. Not an issue during the day but in the evening it was too noisy too leave the door open and sleep.
If we stay again I will ask for a room in one of the pods higher and farther away from the road.

Our room was next to the pool and Jacuzzi, both were clean and enjoyable.

One morning we used their bikes and rode down to Point Lobos the entrance is about a 1/2 mile away. You get in free if you are on a bike or walk in. The scenery is spectacular, highly reccommended.

The one real rub I had was not with the property itself or the staff but the fact that it is a 70% timeshare property. No problem except I was asked if we wanted to attend a 'Timeshare Presentation' twice. I don't want to spend $400 a night for a nice hotel room and be bugged about Timeshare ownership. Bad form in my opinion as we weren't informed about the Timeshare before booking. BTW I said no...twice.

We had dinner at the Pacific's Edge Resturant on our first evening. Dinner was very good as was the service.

I struggled with how many stars to give the property. We did have nice time and the people were great.

Overall a nice place to stay, great views, great staff, good food at the resturants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Corners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed dining at Pacific's Edge. We hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    256
    146
    89
    60
See reviews for
194
562
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We recently had a wonderful stay in The Hyatt Highlands Inn, in the beautiful area of Carmel.
The Hotel itself tucked away in the Highlands of Carmel ( short drive to Carmel) was really a winner for us as a family. We had 2 rooms one was upgraded to a fabulous corner suite which had the best views of the Pacific and a great decked area outside the room. The other room, a town house room with smaller balcony but separate sitting area and a second bathroom.
Staff very nice and the Valet staff great. Restaurant brilliant views of Pacific until night time comes, and a fab wine list. There was dancing one night which is very popular in early evening.
Nice pool and hot tub, did not get to see the gym, lovely gift shop and preferred the weekend buffet breakfast to the week a la carte breakfast. Bar great. Good for couples and family.

Room Tip: Rooms near pool overlooking the pacific looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the 5-star review! We are so happy you enjoyed the delicious restaurant and our extensive wine list. We hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night as we drove up Hwy 1 to San Francisco. We had the kids with us, so it was not ideal for this hotel. I will say that we would have LOVED this place for a romantic adults-only getaway. It is not meant for kids, but we wanted to check it out & knew we were only there for a night. We used Hyatt points, so it was a good value for us. We ate room service on our balcony (with amazing Pacific Ocean views), so cannot comment on restaurants. However, the room service was very good.

I would love to return someday with just my husband and I. The room has a wood burning fireplace, lovely views, and a cozy and romantic feel about it.

I would not stay here with children again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kikipa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you have the opportunity to visit us again! Thank you for the wonderful review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

A great Hyatt property with tranquility. Great views, excellent dining, especially the breakfast lunch spot outdoors. Close to Carmel and to its' superb ambiance, shopping and food. Then there is the 17 mile drive in Carmel and the Monterey Aquarium. Then just across the road is a nice little state park for great walks and swimming.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We're happy you enjoyed the beautiful views and dining! We thank you for the great review and we hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The setting is over the top fabulous with it's view of the Pacific. The room feels very dated, with low ceilings, 20+ year old furniture, and cheap faucets. When we entered our room it had the smell of mildew, and we had to open the patio door to let in fresh air to clear out the smell. It felt like being in the 1990's. There is no air-conditioning, and in the late afternoon when the sun streams into the room, the room can feel like an oven because it gets so hot. The worst part of the room was that it was very noisy from Highway 1. We left our windows open at night to keep the room cool, but being so close to the highway there was constant traffic noise all night long. And the noise was really, really loud--ALL NIGHT LONG. If only the décor of the rooms matched that of the lobby, which they do not. It just felt like a decent motel next to a busy highway with a to die for view. Will not return as it did not feel like good value. We had heard good things, but I think time has passed this hotel by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gdmack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We will look into your comments and we are so sorry your room was warm during your visit. Thank you for taking the time to review and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands for one night on our way down the Pacifc Coast Highway and it was one of the best nights of a long trip.

The Hyatt is located a few miles south of Carmel, just above the highway, with wonderful views on the coastline. My wife especially liked the views and atmosphere in the lobby, which has two big fireplaces that create a cozy atmosphere.

We were assigned a single-story room with a kingsize bed and two patios, one facing the (small but nice) pool area and one facing the ocean. Room interior was impeccable and up to Hyatt standards. The room also had a fireplace, with wood already prepared. As the evenings get quite cold even in the summer, it was wonderful to stay in the room with a fire running all evening.

Dinner at the Pacific Edge restaurant was pricey but well worth it, again wonderful views of the ocean, excellent service and superb kitchen. The bar also offers some options for a more easy-going dinner.

Breakfast options are bit confusing. If you book breakfast with your room (as we did) you receive a voucher of a certain value ($18/person if I remember right) to spend at the California Market, which however offers mainly American style breakfast options and prices each item separately (coffee, juice, etc.). Most likely you will end up exceeding the value of your voucher and will need to pay for the difference - no big amounts, but it's not really a customer friendly system.

We will definitely stay again if we're back in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 148Johann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the 5-star review! We are so happy you enjoyed the wonderful views and a relaxing dinner at Pacific'c Edge. We hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We loved our one night stay at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast. We had an Ocean view room with balcony. We had a cozy fireplace in our room. The coast was a bit cold even though it was summer. The Pacific’s Edge Restaurant is a must. The food was delicious and the wine list was amazing. I had the Oysters and my husband had the scallops. We had it with DuMol which is my new Chardonnay favorite. The view with glass walls of the ocean views was amazing. The service was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatcoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are so happy you enjoyed the delicious oysters and the DeMol is a great choice! We sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#18 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
8.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
3.7 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Property: Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Address: 120 Highland Dr, Carmel, CA 93923-9607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey Pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant (dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). Rumors have been circulating that California Market is closed for renovation. These rumors are not true. We are open and enjoying the Fall weather and delicious seasonal menu items. In 2016, we will be going through several renovations at the hotel and will update guests once we have a firm schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing