We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Older Rooms + Great Views = Overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Older Rooms + Great Views = Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have been a loyal Hyatt customer for a long time, and have spent time at many of their higher end resort properties. Given the price of the rooms at this location, I expected a high level of service, cleanliness and room design, but this location needs a refurbishment. The staff was friendly enough, but nothing approaching a 5 star hotel. The views and potential for these rooms is off the charts - they sit on the cliff, overlooking the Pacific with great views of the sunset. Unfortunately, that is about all you're paying for. The rooms were just too old - walls are thing and the decks need to be refinished / painted and in some cases, boards replaced. Add on the over the top room service menu prices, and this hotel does not stand up to any of the competition available in the Carmel / Monterey area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, and we encourage you to call and speak with our general manager. We pride ourselves on wonderful customer service, and a truly memorable, beautiful visit on this stunning property. We hope you will consider staying with us again and we hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    256
    146
    89
    60
See reviews for
193
561
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The moment I walked in I could see incredible views of the Monterey coast. As good as anything you see in Big Sur. Had view from room and deck as well as from restaurant. Room very nice with working fireplace that they set up for you to use. Service incredible. It's obvious that the employees are proud of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mschoenmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and that you enjoyed the stunning views! We sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The main building and restaurant are spectacular with a superb ocean view. Many of the guest rooms have superb views also. However, the guest room that we stayed in (which is assumed to be somewhat standard) was not up to a luxury hotel quality hotel standard and was somewhat disappointing based on the price. The bathroom was small and the bathtub lacked drain stopper The staff were great and responsive.

Food in the main dining room was excellent and the fabulous view along with excellent food made dining there a worthwhile experience.

Room Tip: Because of the topography, many of the rooms are located off of the pool area which means many stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doublfault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are so happy you enjoyed restaurants and the stunning views and we appreciate your feedback regarding the rooms. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and i stay at hyatt resorts across the country and the carmel highlands is defintely one of the more spectaular settings we have been to. The resort itself overall was very accomodating and had fantastic garden areas and views of the Pacific Coast. We thoroughly enjoyed the fireplace in our room and the porch with great ocean viewing. While the staff was courteous, we found ourselves trying to avoid the office and restaurant area as they were far too aggressive in trying to sell us a time share. I do agree with other reviewers that the rooms need a makeover and we could definitely hear our neighbors abive and around us. We will go back again but suggest to hotel management to scale back on time share sales agressiveness and perform some updating to the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pump1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed the beautiful setting and we appreciate your feedback regarding your rooms and the staff. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

OK. We are Hyatt members and have been for quite a few years now. Having stayed here last year, this year was a bit disappointing. It really seems like the property has declined over this last year. The carpets were extremely dirty. While I know this is a vacation club location and is booked year round, they've got to find time to clean the carpets. It's a first impression when you walk into your room(s). We actually didn't feel comfortable walking around barefoot.

While it's true there was no A/C, we just opened the windows as the highs were only around 64F. At night, the fireplace was great!

The location of this property is absolutely BEAUTIFUL! So, if you can get past the rest, then it's the perfect spot for you! We love the view so can't complain too much!

The check-in & check-out was a breeze, as always! Jorn was fantastic in accommodating us!

Saturday night, they had live music in the lounge. We loved the jazz group that played & even bought their CD! Actually, they were playing the night before at another restaurant we ate at. My husband and I enjoyed our evening immensely! Having not danced in many, many years, we actually spent some time on the dance floor! There was a nice crowd building.

Being adventurous, we tried some of the menu specialty drinks. Our waiter was one of two waiters taking care of the entire lounge area and dance floor area. So, we did take some drinks back to the bar to get "adjusted". I guess we offended our waiter as he stopped waiting on us for the rest of the night. Disappointing. In no way had we intended to upset our waiter. We simply wanted to get our drinks fixed and he was extremely busy! C'est la vie...

We will be back as we love the area and love the location with beautiful views!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seejules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us as much as you had in the past. We are happy you made use of the fireplace in the evening (always a nice treat) and the Jazz Band. We will look into your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is situated high on a hill and affords beautiful views of the ocean and the Cypress trees. The hotel grounds are green and covered with forest-like vegetation. It does get cool in the evenings so it is a perfect time to start a fire in the wood burning fireplace - wood, etc provided. The rooms are spacious and the food is excellent. A must stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brytbln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the great review! The central coast does get chilly in the evenings- we are glad you enjoyed the fireplace to warm up with! We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, Usa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed one night in June on our way to San Francisco from LA. The property looks beautiful in photos on their website and the view from our room was nice. These are the only good things I can say about our stay. The quality of the room was poor -- no airconditioning. When we walked in the room, it was dark, dank and smelled bad. The windows were closed and we could only open one set because we were close to the pool and it was noisy. We had an ocean view which meant you heard the traffic from the main road all night long. There were a lot of kids at this property so not really a place for anyone looking for a romantic stay. The room seemed dirty and obviously it has been many years since it was refurbished. The room was small with the bed taking up most of the space and the bathroom very small too and looked like something out of an inner city high school. I would tell anyone I know to AVOID this place. Charging $500 a night is disgraceful. Don't be fooled, this is NOT a luxury property.

Room Tip: If you must stay at this place, then ask for a room far from the pool and away from the street. Wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will look into your comments and we appreciate your feedback. We sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
8.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
3.7 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Property: Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Address: 120 Highland Dr, Carmel, CA 93923-9607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
448 room luxury resort nestled in Monterey Pines overlooking Point Lobos State Reserve. Oceanview rooms include wood burning fireplaces and private balconies and 11 suites also include in-room double spa baths, kitchenettes. Renowned Pacific's Edge Restaurant (dinner only) and California Market Restaurant (breakfast & lunch). Rumors have been circulating that California Market is closed for renovation. These rumors are not true. We are open and enjoying the Fall weather and delicious seasonal menu items. In 2016, we will be going through several renovations at the hotel and will update guests once we have a firm schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing