We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 year anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“10 year anniversary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and i stay at hyatt resorts across the country and the carmel highlands is defintely one of the more spectaular settings we have been to. The resort itself overall was very accomodating and had fantastic garden areas and views of the Pacific Coast. We thoroughly enjoyed the fireplace in our room and the porch with great ocean viewing. While the staff was courteous, we found ourselves trying to avoid the office and restaurant area as they were far too aggressive in trying to sell us a time share. I do agree with other reviewers that the rooms need a makeover and we could definitely hear our neighbors abive and around us. We will go back again but suggest to hotel management to scale back on time share sales agressiveness and perform some updating to the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pump1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed the beautiful setting and we appreciate your feedback regarding your rooms and the staff. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    280
    155
    95
    63
See reviews for
208
603
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

OK. We are Hyatt members and have been for quite a few years now. Having stayed here last year, this year was a bit disappointing. It really seems like the property has declined over this last year. The carpets were extremely dirty. While I know this is a vacation club location and is booked year round, they've got to find time to clean the carpets. It's a first impression when you walk into your room(s). We actually didn't feel comfortable walking around barefoot.

While it's true there was no A/C, we just opened the windows as the highs were only around 64F. At night, the fireplace was great!

The location of this property is absolutely BEAUTIFUL! So, if you can get past the rest, then it's the perfect spot for you! We love the view so can't complain too much!

The check-in & check-out was a breeze, as always! Jorn was fantastic in accommodating us!

Saturday night, they had live music in the lounge. We loved the jazz group that played & even bought their CD! Actually, they were playing the night before at another restaurant we ate at. My husband and I enjoyed our evening immensely! Having not danced in many, many years, we actually spent some time on the dance floor! There was a nice crowd building.

Being adventurous, we tried some of the menu specialty drinks. Our waiter was one of two waiters taking care of the entire lounge area and dance floor area. So, we did take some drinks back to the bar to get "adjusted". I guess we offended our waiter as he stopped waiting on us for the rest of the night. Disappointing. In no way had we intended to upset our waiter. We simply wanted to get our drinks fixed and he was extremely busy! C'est la vie...

We will be back as we love the area and love the location with beautiful views!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seejules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us as much as you had in the past. We are happy you made use of the fireplace in the evening (always a nice treat) and the Jazz Band. We will look into your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is situated high on a hill and affords beautiful views of the ocean and the Cypress trees. The hotel grounds are green and covered with forest-like vegetation. It does get cool in the evenings so it is a perfect time to start a fire in the wood burning fireplace - wood, etc provided. The rooms are spacious and the food is excellent. A must stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brytbln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the great review! The central coast does get chilly in the evenings- we are glad you enjoyed the fireplace to warm up with! We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, Usa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed one night in June on our way to San Francisco from LA. The property looks beautiful in photos on their website and the view from our room was nice. These are the only good things I can say about our stay. The quality of the room was poor -- no airconditioning. When we walked in the room, it was dark, dank and smelled bad. The windows were closed and we could only open one set because we were close to the pool and it was noisy. We had an ocean view which meant you heard the traffic from the main road all night long. There were a lot of kids at this property so not really a place for anyone looking for a romantic stay. The room seemed dirty and obviously it has been many years since it was refurbished. The room was small with the bed taking up most of the space and the bathroom very small too and looked like something out of an inner city high school. I would tell anyone I know to AVOID this place. Charging $500 a night is disgraceful. Don't be fooled, this is NOT a luxury property.

Room Tip: If you must stay at this place, then ask for a room far from the pool and away from the street. Wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will look into your comments and we appreciate your feedback. We sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

A luxury hotel with a beautiful setting and views. Highland Inn is modest luxury with wonderful rooms and lodges. It's has a tiny village setting. The resort has two restaurants; Pacifics Edge for very good fine dining with great views and great wine list; California Market for casual dining. The Sunset Lounge is nice for relaxing and views.

The residence club rooms are very worthwhile and have large soaking jacuzzi areas.

It is a perfect get away resort in Carmel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

SHAMEFUL AND BORDERING ON DECEPTIVE MARKETING PRACTICES that such a high priced property cares so little for the comfort of guests who have the bad luck of traveling on days where the weather is not ideal and provides absolutely no warning of its lacking in industry-standard facilities. I guess it works most of the time, but if you are not clarevoyant and make the mistake of booking ahead, you're rolling the dice on whether the weather will cooperate to keep your room cool enough for comfort because they have no rooms with air conditioners. You can open the doors to let the air in, and eventually it will cool down on a hot day by late night, I suppose, but in the meantime you are effectively stuck with an uncomfortable room that has been sealed shut until you arrive -- not very pleasant after a long day driving up the PCH in need of a little rest before taking on the evening. And if you wanted the air to circulate through the room, you had to open doors on both sides of the room -- leaving you fully exposed to all the noise coming from the swimming pool only feets away (which, of course, stayed very busy right until pool closing time because it was a hot day -- and after pool hours, we got to listen to the staff doing its nightly clean-up work atthe pool!). Even when it did finally cool down, the room felt humid (and imagine how it might feel on a warm rainy day) and you have to be fine sleeping with your patio doors wide open all night. I guess they'll try to sell you on the usually great weather as why they don't need AC and they'll offer to cart in a fan (which still requires leaving your patio open, is noisy and won't solve some basic humidity issues), but really in the end it's the owners trying to get away without making a reasonable investment in their property while trying to get away with an oblique reference on their website that each room has "individual heat control" as providing enough notice to prospective guests that, by the omission of a reference to "cooling", we should know that there is no AC. In this day and age, I think that they engage in deceptive marketing by hiding the fact that they do not have AC and must, at a minimum, provide on their website a warning about no AC that can adversely affect guests when weather strays from the norm. Hyatt should be ashamed in itself and make the necessary investment to bring the property up to basic standards of the industry or sell the property to another operator willing to make such basic investments.

The rest? While having a very nice view from the ocean front-view room, the room is rather inconveniently configured as others have noted. The King bed is positioned in a way to interfere with free movement and conducive to repeated toe-stubbing, the bathroom is very subpar even for a room at half the price, the room service was achingly slow (and who would ever have thought we would have to actually ask for glasses with ice to accompany our cans of soda -- he rushed to bring them when we noticed there were none, but seemed really odd to us), and did I mention non-existent temperature/humidity control for days of sub-optimal weather? NO CHANCE I WILL EVER STAY HERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank e a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, and we encourage you to call and speak with our general manager. We pride ourselves on wonderful customer service, and a truly memorable, beautiful visit on this stunning property. We apologize about the lack of air conditioning and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We actually had our wedding here, but while the venue was beautiful, convenient, and wonderful overall.. some minuses detracted from it. The staff were disappointing. We got surly bellboys and porters and manager types who just seemed to plaster a smile on their face and do next to nothing else. The price is semi-ridiculous for what you get. $400ish+ per night for a room with no central air (open the window for the ocean air they say) that hasn't been renovated since the early 90s at best. The main building is the best, most breathtaking, most classy part of the place, the rest is just pretty good. The fireplaces in the rooms were nice, but I needed more wood after about 30 minutes! I would come back here for a nice dinner maybe, but not to stay.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room where you share a ceiling or roof.. the walls are thin (because they're old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elyas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are so happy you chose to have your wedding with us and had a wonderful experience overall. we appreciate your feedback regarding your rooms and service. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
3.7 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
10.2 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Property: Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Address: 120 Highland Dr, Carmel, CA 93923-9607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself. Hyatt Carmel Highlands is a picturesque retreat overlooking the Big Sur coast with epic views of the Pacific Ocean, and a stunning natural environment made even more special by our impeccable staff. Our Carmel by-the-Sea hotel is an oceanfront retreat that seamlessly blends the amenities of a large hotel with the refined charm of a boutique hideaway. Dine at the award-winning California Market at Pacific's Edge restaurant. After a morning of yoga, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or unwind with a relaxing spa experience. If it's outdoor activity you crave, we offer mountain bike rentals and maps for hikes, jogs and bike rides around the stunning Carmel area. Let the Les Clefs d'Or Concierge arrange a day trip to explore Big Sur or a round at legendary Pebble Beach. Host an intimate sunset wedding ceremony or intimate reception on our redwood deck. Feel inspired by the breathtaking vistas that surround our Carmel hotel. Your experience is limited only by your imagination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing