We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views. Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful views. Great location”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We are leaving after 3 wonderful nights The view of big sur and the pacific make staying here worth it alone. The room is large an the bed and bathroom are first quality. An comparable to other Hyatt time shares. We enjoyed the wood burning fireplace. And thought it added charm. Ther is no a/c. Which is not a problem at night. We really did not spend much time in the room during the day. But it was very warm in the afternoon. I wish there were ceiling fans. In the rooms. We live in Florida and this was definitely a special treat. And I would not hesitate to stay here again. Hopefully for longer

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed the wood burning fireplaces and the breathtaking views! We sincerely hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    286
    156
    97
    64
See reviews for
210
612
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penna.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We booked this hotel from a Hyatt rep. in San Francisco, which they stated was a Hyatt Hotel in Carmel. Having stayed at Hyatts throughout the USA, I expected alot for the price of over $700 a night. In fact, we travel quite alot and have stayed at beautiful hotels, so we expected alot for the price. We were not impressed at all; in fact we couldn't wait till the next morning to check out.

Over rated to say the least. If you want the view, go pull over at the roadside of Big Sur and take in the view!! The only thing it has going for it is the view. Our room was a so called suite. It was musty smelling and very outdated. Furniture was worned and to get into the bed, you had to be a contorsonist! Very little room on the sides of the bed to get into. The paint was peeling on the all the railings and landscaping was not being taken care of. It may have been something years ago but take my word and stay someplace else. Shame on Hyatt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travelandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, and we encourage you to call and speak with our general manager. We pride ourselves on wonderful customer service, and a truly memorable, beautiful visit on this stunning property. We apologize that you did not enjoy your room or other accommodations. We hope you will consider staying with us again and we hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A True Magical Escape from the Real World
This is one of those rare properties that folks either love or hate.
If you come seeking 5 star perfection in a guest room you will be severely disappointed.
As many others have said this property could use some TLC and a major luxury makeover to please the most discerning individuals and then they could easily charge more.
For those expecting Park Hyatt or the Four Seasons room standards this probably isn’t the place for you.The accomodations maybe a bit quirky and cell servce can be spotty in the region for those that are in constant need of communication.If there ever was a time to shut the cell phone off this is it!

I was informed that the only place to dine is Pacific Edge when I called the hotel originally.
That turned out to be inaccurate information as we dined in the Lounge as well as the more known Pacific Edge. The service ran all over the map from highly satisfactory to lost and confused. Food however typically shined in both venues and because we couldn’t choose entrees from both menus we were slightly frustrated even though they share the same kitchens. Halibut my favorite was available in the lounge and not in the main restaurant. It’s a silly rule when guests are willing to pay anything it takes to enjoy their meals and can't order their preference. However we dealt with it. Minor stuff in the big world!

However let’s now talk about what’s right about this property and there is much..
The views are some of the most mesmerizing in the world that include the glorious Pacific Ocean, nature, motion picture sunsets, stunning landscape and beautiful flowers abound. The weather gods cooperated for us thankfully over a holiday weekend stay. Fog is your enemy here folks and this is Northern California
There’s a feeling of privilege here to be on grounds and the air you breathe feels fresher.
It’s the rare Hyatt that is a true escape getaway/condo home rather than the typical hotel experience.
Jacuzzis/spa tubs are available in many suites/accommodations and in the common areas
It can be especially romantic social and healing for those that just want a break from the hustle and bustle of the real world. Some accommodations have fireplaces and for folks wishing to make a fire can make one inside their living rooms/suite fireplace.

If you come on weekends or high season and haven’t paid a premium or earned elite status don’t cry baby on Trip Advisor or eslewhere you haven’t received an ocean view but a view of the car park. I have been staying with Hyatt and have achieved top tier status with regular loyalty and rarely has any property regardless of the way I book taken much better care of me overall. The front office team always works their magic for us when possible.
It doesn’t matter if I use my points, revenue or a promotional certificate once they know your preferences they jump to get you that upgrade if at all possible. Its properties like this that makes me proud to be a Gold Passport frequent stay member. As a top tier member breakfast for up to 4 registered guests in a room is complimentary!
The business culture of this property is simply fantastic and its what every Hyatt worldwide should aspire too and thankfully a number do!

While prices may seem high on face value they are not that unreasonable when you look at the pricing at the Post Ranch Inn or some others. You may be booking a room or suite here but what you really book is the scenic area and unique experience which will vary to a large degree depending on the accommodation you pick and even its location
Here’s where it can get challenging. Some of the suites are two floors and view wise many of the rooms types/views can vary widely. I knew I wanted to be a longtime regular and found it was to my advantage to fly down for a night and learn about the most desirable rooms and suites the property had before staying here.Its not vital but it worked for me
If you are going to gamble there can be more hit and miss the first time around. I found I prefer my accommodations suites or guest rooms all on one floor. Though I think families will totally love the two floor set up.And of course a select location will please one another won’t care for.
It’s really important to take the extra time to study the different accommodations/views/set ups to achieve a superb stay.It’s not as simple as saying room or suite!

The fitness center is a bit small and up a hill but highly adequate
Most team members everywhere on the property that we ran into try hard to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. Even the housekeepers were friendly
Breakfast here consistently shines and shows Hyatt at its very best with freshly cracked eggs prepared anyway one likes, beautiful smoked salmon ,homemade buttery blueberry muffins, in season perfectly cut fruit and all the other expected basic American classics. Attention to detail that I would hope to see at every Hyatt and frequently don’t.

Team members seem glad to see you and share in pleasant conversation and look after their guests
The excellent helpful concierge the front of the house and even the outgoing gift shop lady Linette won us over with her hospitality and came by on departure day to say goodbye. Over and over it was people that care right down the line.

The Hyatt Carmel a place as close to heaven as I can imagine.Love or hate that room don’t miss the opportunity in Northern California scenic breathtaking paradise and the fun of the entire area.One of the few destinations I come back thankful from everytime I visit.Imagine how cool it would be to live there year round!

Room Tip: When in doubt speak with the hotel directly central reservations have limited room/suites informatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentstaydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are happy to hear you had such a wonderful time staying with us! The views are breathtaking and we are glad you enjoyed. We hope you are able to stay with us next time you visit the area. Thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a prime example of how websites can be deceiving - having booked months in advance did not get the de luxe sea view king we had booked but a nice view of the car park - greeting at reception was offhand - only other option was a "town house" upgrade at additional cost - so went for that - room was tired - my partner got an electric shock from the shaving mirror swith which on inspection had a live wire - stained sheets - torn furniture - not up to the standard for the rate being charged ! The hotel is very dated and tired and needs a major refurbishment - the fires in the lounge were never lit and the lounge was being used to sell timeshare 24/7 with monitors all around the walls. Certainly not the lovely relaxing room shown on the website. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was good but as we were still at our table beyond 10 pm the attitude of the staff changed as we were obviously keeping them up ! On the plus side the hotel has amazing views due to its location and the young man who helped with our luggage was very helpful.

Room Tip: top level for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, and we encourage you to call and speak with our general manager. We pride ourselves on wonderful customer service, and a truly memorable, beautiful visit on this stunning property. We apologize that this was not your experience and we strive to do all that we can to ensure each person who stays at Hyatt Carmel Highlands Overlooking Big Sur Coast leaves our property happy. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

When we first drove up to the property, it seemed a little worn. When you locate a property on the Pacific ocean, it takes a lot of weather. We were unable to upgrade our room but were given an ocean view king size bed. Shout out to Lee for the great job he did as valet getting our bags and going the extra mile to make us feel comfortable. When the weather is cool and damp as is often the case in Carmel, having a room with a fireplace really helps to create ambiance and warmth.
Our stay was comfortable and relaxing; sleeping while listening to the ocean below.
The staff goes the extra mile to assure you enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingman826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed wonderful service from our friendly staff! Thank you for the great review and we hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hyatt Carmel HIghlands is well situated along Highway 1, providing easy access to the town of Carmel By the Sea and Big Sur. After a whole day of outting, it is comfortable and relaxing to return to the apartment-style room facing the ocean. The lounge was beautiful and the food at their fine dining restaurant was amazing. The staff was helpful - good knowledge on the wine list as well. It was well-priced, making it an easy choice for an affordable luxury vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikonomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed our dining choices and the breathtaking views! We sincerely hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

First I must say the staff was great. And if we hadn't gotten a deal on the room because of a timeshare presentation, I would rate it terrible as far as the rooms go. If you are looking at this as a hotel, it has some major problems if you are paying $400 to $900 per night. On the way to our room we noticed shingles falling off the sides of the buildings. Once in the room we noticed that we were back in the 80's. We found out from a local, that the last time these rooms had be updated was 1984, and it looked it, and I am sure the mattress was from the same time period. The carpet was filthy, the sink so low in the bathroom, my husband could barely shave. There is poor soundproofing between the rooms. We had a downstairs room and when the people decide at 3AM to take a spa tub, you are not going to sleep. They also must have weighed over 500 lbs because when they walked across the floor the whole down stairs shakes. When the refrigerator cycles it sounds like a 747, so good luck sleeping. The furniture is worn and most of the finish is off the furniture. On the timeshare side, they promise a low pressure presentation, no really true. They do tell you they are planing to replace the carpets. We also noticed the roofs were going to need work soon, and the patio furniture was not keep up and if you sit in the chairs you would end up the splinters. We we told our building was on of the buildings that was in great shape. We asked for HOA minutes, and maintenance schedules but were met with disdain. We really were thinking of maybe purchasing a timeshare, but after seeing the shape of the property, were very disappointed. The view is outstanding, but I'd rather park and picnic with an expensive bottle of champagne at these prices.

Room Tip: If you can find one, good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vickinbobyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy the quality of the rooms on your visit with us, and we encourage you to call and speak with our general manager. We pride ourselves on wonderful customer service, and we are happy you enjoyed our warm, friendly staff. We strive to do all that we can to ensure each person who stays at Hyatt Carmel Highlands Overlooking Big Sur Coast leaves our property happy. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
847 reviews
3.7 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
340 reviews
8.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
1,641 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
317 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Property: Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Address: 120 Highland Dr, Carmel, CA 93923-9607
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself. Hyatt Carmel Highlands is a picturesque retreat overlooking the Big Sur coast with epic views of the Pacific Ocean, and a stunning natural environment made even more special by our impeccable staff. Our Carmel by-the-Sea hotel is an oceanfront retreat that seamlessly blends the amenities of a large hotel with the refined charm of a boutique hideaway. Dine at the award-winning California Market at Pacific's Edge restaurant. After a morning of yoga, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or unwind with a relaxing spa experience. If it's outdoor activity you crave, we offer mountain bike rentals and maps for hikes, jogs and bike rides around the stunning Carmel area. Let the Les Clefs d'Or Concierge arrange a day trip to explore Big Sur or a round at legendary Pebble Beach. Host an intimate sunset wedding ceremony or intimate reception on our redwood deck. Feel inspired by the breathtaking vistas that surround our Carmel hotel. Your experience is limited only by your imagination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing