We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs major facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Garden Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Needs major facelift”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

First I must say the staff was great. And if we hadn't gotten a deal on the room because of a timeshare presentation, I would rate it terrible as far as the rooms go. If you are looking at this as a hotel, it has some major problems if you are paying $400 to $900 per night. On the way to our room we noticed shingles falling off the sides of the buildings. Once in the room we noticed that we were back in the 80's. We found out from a local, that the last time these rooms had be updated was 1984, and it looked it, and I am sure the mattress was from the same time period. The carpet was filthy, the sink so low in the bathroom, my husband could barely shave. There is poor soundproofing between the rooms. We had a downstairs room and when the people decide at 3AM to take a spa tub, you are not going to sleep. They also must have weighed over 500 lbs because when they walked across the floor the whole down stairs shakes. When the refrigerator cycles it sounds like a 747, so good luck sleeping. The furniture is worn and most of the finish is off the furniture. On the timeshare side, they promise a low pressure presentation, no really true. They do tell you they are planing to replace the carpets. We also noticed the roofs were going to need work soon, and the patio furniture was not keep up and if you sit in the chairs you would end up the splinters. We we told our building was on of the buildings that was in great shape. We asked for HOA minutes, and maintenance schedules but were met with disdain. We really were thinking of maybe purchasing a timeshare, but after seeing the shape of the property, were very disappointed. The view is outstanding, but I'd rather park and picnic with an expensive bottle of champagne at these prices.

Room Tip: If you can find one, good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vickinbobyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy the quality of the rooms on your visit with us, and we encourage you to call and speak with our general manager. We pride ourselves on wonderful customer service, and we are happy you enjoyed our warm, friendly staff. We strive to do all that we can to ensure each person who stays at Hyatt Carmel Highlands Overlooking Big Sur Coast leaves our property happy. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    289
    158
    97
    64
See reviews for
217
621
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We try to avoid bigger brands when on vacation - but the Hyatt was well located - great views and efficient service. Compliments go out to the Valet Crew - they were always really friendly - and it was a nice way to start and end the day. The Concierge very also very friendly. So good service! We did not have any meals in the hotel - as we opted for Carmel Restaurants. The rooms were comfy - bed comfy and sure some of the spaces feels a little worn out here and there - but it did not bother us. We will stay here again if we visit the area - as it is really convenient location both for visiting Big Sur and Carmel / Monterey area. We had a good rate - and if you consider the options (not a lot) in the area - it was great for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012


We booked with our Platinum Rewards and paid regular price expecting gorgeous townhouses with living spaces. Despite a recent remodel and large first floor soaking tubs, the rest of the room quality and rooms in general is at best- sub quality. Views aside and fairly good room service, people expecting Park Hyatt style and amenities will be disappointed. I suggest Post Ranch Inn or the Ventans- further away. But if you want to be closer to Carmel try done of the prettier B& B's that have better service and proximity!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNowVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
We are happy that you decided to use your rewards to visit our beautiful, unique property and we are so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room during your stay. We encourage you to call us directly as we truly want all of our guests to leave happy. Thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have stayed here twice and the 2nd time was equally as nice. This is a spectacular property with coast views that make you want to move to Carmel. The customer service is amazing as it should be for the price- but the front desk staff is exceptionally trained and do anything and everything to make you feel comfortable. We were in the Resident Club side and had a full kitchen and balcany with stunning views. My advice- take that someone special here for a few nights with a nice bottle of wine and just enjoy each other's company while surrounded by California's best views.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dadickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed your second visit with us and we sincerely hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We just stayed two nights at this hotel. We stayed in Room 546, which we were very happy with. It was on the top floor, so no one above us, and it was an end unit which meant no one on one side of us. We had ocean views that were beautiful. We were in some of the units closest to the hotel entrance road and Highway 1 so we did experience quite a bit of traffic, but honestly it didn't bother us too much. The hotel is so relaxing and beautiful that it made up for the traffic noise. Next time I might stay a little more away from those two roads, but would be perfectly happy with the same room. We had a fireplace that we used every day. It added to the ambience while we enjoyed our ocean view patio! We had a second patio that overlooked the pool area. We didn't use that patio much. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. The room was plenty big.
We came to celebrate a birthday, and are very glad we stayed there. All of the staff was friendly. We didn't eat there because we wanted to explore the surrounding areas, so I can't comment on the restaurants. We sat in one of the hot tubs and enjoyed that! The complex seemed to be clean and was landscaped nicely!
Overall a really nice experience and great, relaxing memories!

Room Tip: We stayed in 546. Top floor on the end overlooking ocean with a fireplace. A little close to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckytraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are happy to hear you had such a wonderful time with us! The views are breathtaking and we are glad you enjoyed. We hope you are able to stay with us again next time you visit the area. Thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

First impression of the hotel was fabulous – we arrived close to midnight, exhausted and after a little trouble finding our way in the dark, but were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a HUGE suite. In the morning we were even more surprised when we discovered the stunning views out the windows. Needless to say we were quite happy about this.

The service was also great, very friendly all around with only one very minor mixup with b’fast on the last day – that was correctly within minutes by the way. It wasn’t cheap but thankfully I was able to burn some Hyatt points for 2 of the 3 nights. Wish we had checked out the restaurant because it looked like a great atmosphere but there’s no shortage of beautiful views in Carmel.... so maybe next time.

Not sure how I’d feel if I hadn’t been upgraded and hadn’t used points. Like I said, it’s expensive. But kudos to Hyatt for making it less corporate than many Hyatts, I was quite impressed and felt relaxed and happy to call this home for 2 1/2 days.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ellaviaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kloof, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is made up of a main building and a complex of smaller units set amongst beautifully landscaped gardens on a cliff edge overlooking the ocean just outside Carmel village. There are very few properties in the Carmel vicinity which have ocean views so that, for a start, is a major bonus for this hotel. The size of our room was good, the bed, pillows and linens were excellent. Our room was quie and we had a great night's sleep. You can order breakfast to be delivered to your room or take it on a balcony overlooking the ocean. There is a restaurant and bar in the main hotel which has a lovely view over the ocean. There are many great restaurants in Carmel (book in advance if you can) so perhaps have a cocktail in the bar and then head off for Carmel village which has loads of atmosphere. We ate at Basil (excellent) and Casanova (very good). Service was excellent from all staff members we came into contact with.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
860 reviews
3.7 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
345 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
10.2 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
330 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Property: Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Address: 120 Highland Dr, Carmel, CA 93923-9607
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself. Hyatt Carmel Highlands is a picturesque retreat overlooking the Big Sur coast with epic views of the Pacific Ocean, and a stunning natural environment made even more special by our impeccable staff. Our Carmel by-the-Sea hotel is an oceanfront retreat that seamlessly blends the amenities of a large hotel with the refined charm of a boutique hideaway. Dine at the award-winning California Market at Pacific's Edge restaurant. After a morning of yoga, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or unwind with a relaxing spa experience. If it's outdoor activity you crave, we offer mountain bike rentals and maps for hikes, jogs and bike rides around the stunning Carmel area. Let the Les Clefs d'Or Concierge arrange a day trip to explore Big Sur or a round at legendary Pebble Beach. Host an intimate sunset wedding ceremony or intimate reception on our redwood deck. Feel inspired by the breathtaking vistas that surround our Carmel hotel. Your experience is limited only by your imagination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing